采访 Nutworks - 将创新型澳洲坚果带进更多超市

在使用澳洲坚果开发美味的零售产品方面,Nutworks在行业内已经是领导者地位。Nutworks在20世纪90年代中期进入澳大利亚澳洲坚果行业,凭借其在线商店和位于澳大利亚澳洲坚果种植区之一的Sunshine Coast实体零售店人气,Nutworks在生产和零售方面澳洲坚果取得了增值的成功。

最近,Nutworks在澳大利亚食品杂货渠道推出了一系列令人印象深刻的新零售产品,亚洲地区的兴趣与日俱增。受该公司最畅销的口味和形式的启发,其全新设计的澳洲坚果产品组合涵盖了高端和日常零食、糖果、什锦麦片、油和烘焙配料,使消费者比以往任何时候都更容易在常规杂货店购买到多种澳洲坚果产品。

为消费者提供更清晰的选择

澳大利亚澳洲坚果行业致力于通过深入了解消费者需求以此来推动创新,Nutworks新品的发布完美地说明了这一点。品牌的国际销售经理萨拉·伦纳德(Sarah Leonard)表示,新系列产品是根据消费者以及他们的购物方式来开发的。

她说:“我们希望在我们的澳洲坚果产品中提供一种选择和清晰度,这在以前的大型超市中是前所未见的。我们的产品可以让购物者轻松找到他们喜欢的东西,无论他们的预算、出发点或对澳洲坚果偏好如何。” 

该公司的高端产品由伞式品牌By Nutworks提供,由五个子品牌组成。

Gourmet By Nutworks是一个高端零食系列,用优质的澳洲坚果搭配一系列独特的口味,如毛卡蜂蜜、枫糖煎饼和松脆山核桃。

Indulge By Nutworks将经典的澳洲坚果和巧克力组合提升到了新的高度。优质的整颗澳洲坚果被包裹在牛奶巧克力或者黑巧克力中。有各种诱人的口味,包括拉明顿巧克力、咸辣黑巧克力和曲奇香奶巧克力。

Confectionery By Nutworks迎合了消费者对高端糖果产品的需求,如澳洲坚果脆、澳洲岩石路或澳洲坚果焦糖软糖。萨拉(Sarah)说:“这是为那些想要除了基本甜食以外的人准备的,这是一个非常精致的手工糖果系列。”

Nourish By Nutworks为全麦食品爱好者提供营养丰富的烤麦片和生澳洲坚果。萨拉(Sarah)说:“滋养系列是为注重健康、想要生澳洲坚果或烤制澳洲坚果的消费者而设计的。”

最后,Chefs Pantry By Nutworks是一个专门为家庭厨师设计的系列。“家庭厨师希望效仿美食厨师的做法,无论是在沙拉或烘焙食品中使用澳洲坚果片,还是在酱汁中加入澳洲坚果油,或者在冰淇淋中使用澳洲坚果黄油。这些不同的澳洲坚果都可以在餐饮服务渠道买到,我们希望它们也能随时出现在超市货架上,供消费者享用。”

Nutty By Nature:澳洲坚果零食的新概念

Nutworks还创建了一个名为Nutty By Nature的宝藏零食品牌,该品牌主打澳洲坚果,这在零食品类中是前所未有的。

虽然含有澳洲坚果的零食并不少见,但通常是与其他坚果混合在一起。纯粹的澳洲坚果零食较为罕见,然而Nutty By Nature打破惯例推出一口一小块的澳洲坚果半果,来代替大块半果或整粒果仁。

萨拉(Sarah)说:“由于尺寸的原因,较小的澳洲坚果块通常被忽略用于其他用途。但在口味和口感方面,它们同样能提供优越的品质。过去没有意识到的是,这些小块的澳洲坚果实际上很适合做零食,这就是Nutty By Nature的立足点。”

Nutty By Nature系列包括四种流行的口味——盐焗、咸辣、海盐迷迭香以及蒜香。每盒350克,每片澳洲坚果都裹着天然调味品,这让它成为一款直击味蕾的零食。

萨拉(Sarah)解释道:“因为碎片更小,所以味道更浓郁,这带来了令人十分满意的零食体验。人们喜欢用手拿零食,无论是薯片、山葵豌豆还是混合坚果。Nutty by Nature就非常适合倒一捧在手心,把零食放进嘴中,感受它对味蕾的冲击。它们非常美味,而且更大的包装使它既经济实惠又适合分享。”

尼尔森IQ 1最近透露,40%的消费者当下最关心的是食品和杂货价格问题,高于2022年中的34%,衰退心态促使许多人更谨慎地把控自己的支出。FMCG Gurus2对此表示赞同,称2023年被认定为金融不稳定的一年,“以奖励和逃避现实为目的负担得起的爱好将很受欢迎。”萨拉·伦纳德(Sarah Leonard)表示,Nutty By Nature的推出符合这种消费者情绪。

萨拉(Sarah)说:“通过使用更小的果仁,我们为消费者提供了以超值价格体验美味优质零食的机会,并且它兼有澳洲坚果的所有益处。Nutty By Nature让零售商有机会成为这个品类发展的一部分。”

澳大利亚原产地的重要性

澳大利亚澳洲坚果产业研究强调了消费者对原料产地的重视,82%的人表示,在购买澳洲坚果时,产地对他们来说很重要。研究还揭示了澳大利亚原产地的受重视程度,90%的澳大利亚消费者和超过50%的亚洲及美国消费者,将澳大利亚列为最具吸引力的澳洲坚果原产地之一3

Nutworks所有产品均使用源自澳大利亚的澳洲坚果,原产地也是产品纯度和品质故事的重要组成部分。

萨拉(Sarah)说:“澳大利亚是澳洲坚果的原产地,许多澳大利亚消费者都认可这一点。他们喜欢澳大利亚种植出的独特柔滑质地与口感,无论是日常食用还是重要节日,他们都喜欢它。”

“自疫情发生以来,澳大利亚本土市场对澳大利亚种植的产品需求越来越强烈。寻找澳大利亚本土种植的食物已经成为人们购物的一部分。对种植者的地方性支持是一部分,我们还做出了更多努力。我们在Sunshine Coast开发了新品牌和包装,我们的包装也在澳大利亚制造。我们很自豪的向世界展示来自澳大利亚的整套产品。”

在出口市场方面,萨拉(Sarah)表示,在消费者眼中,澳大利亚原产地代表着质量、新鲜度与可靠性。“当一种产品是澳大利亚种植时,它就自然而然的与品质上乘联系到一起,这是一个很好的基础。我们产品的独特风味在这之上又增加了一层。”

未来计划

虽然目前Nutworks主要集中在澳大利亚推出新产品,但海外市场也对它产生了兴趣。

萨拉(Sarah)透露:“我们为香港一家大型零售商提供了By Nutworks的春节产品,他们后来又重新订购了。中国市场喜欢这些精致、包装精美的产品。这是令人鼓舞的消息,我们计划进一步向亚洲市场扩张。”

新口味也在Nutworks的创新渠道中占据重要地位。“我们的研究表明,人们十分喜欢不同的、独特的味道。你必须提供最受欢迎的主要产品,但尝试新组合也非常重要。当我们推出这些最初的产品后,我们将把握机会在澳大利亚和国际上努力创造新口味。”

祝贺Nutworks团队,我们期待看到这个创新型澳大利亚零售品牌继续取得成功。


1尼尔森IQ NIQ 2023年消费者展望调查
2FMCG Gurus ,2023年十大趋势,2023年1月
3澳洲坚果定量消费者研究,基于对澳大利亚、中国、韩国、日本、台湾和美国消费者进行的6014项个人调查。由新加坡独立研究机构Kantar统计数据,2020年8月至10月

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to the macadamia review to get more news like this delivered straight to your inbox.

    • 您同意让我们收集您的个人信息,以便与您联系。进一步了解我们的隐私政策。

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.

    • 您同意让我们收集您的个人信息,以便与您联系。进一步了解我们的隐私政策。

Access all areas: meet the company bringing macadamia innovation to more aisles of the supermarket

When it comes to developing delicious retail products with macadamias, Nutworks has cemented itself as a leader. Having entered the Australian macadamia industry in the mid-1990s, Nutworks has achieved success manufacturing and retailing its value-added macadamias thanks to the popularity of its online store and bricks and mortar retail outlet on the Sunshine Coast – one of Australia’s macadamia growing regions.

Nutworks has just launched an impressive line-up of new retail products into Australian grocery channels, with interest ramping up in Asia too. Inspired by the company’s best-selling flavours and formats, its freshly designed portfolio of macadamia products covers premium and everyday snacking, confectionery, muesli, oil and baking ingredients, making it easier than ever for consumers to include multiple macadamia products in their regular grocery shop.

Greater clarity and choice for consumers

Australia’s macadamia industry is committed to innovation driven by a deep understanding of consumer needs, and the Nutworks launch illustrates this perfectly. The brand’s International Sales Manager Sarah Leonard says the new ranges were developed with the consumer, and how they shop, in mind.

“We wanted to provide a level of choice and clarity in our macadamia offerings that haven’t been seen in major supermarkets before,” she said. “Our products make it easy for shoppers to find something they love, regardless of their budget, entry point or macadamia preferences.” 

The company’s premium offering is available under the umbrella brand By Nutworks, with five sub-brands making up the range.

Gourmet By Nutworks is a premium snack range featuring superior grade macadamia kernel paired with a host of unique flavours such as Manuka Honey, Maple Pancake and Crunchy Hickory.

Indulge By Nutworks takes the classic macadamia and chocolate combination to new heights. Premium whole macadamias are encased in milk or dark chocolate with decadent flavour variants including Lamington Chocolate, Dark Chocolate Salted Chilli and Cookies & Cream.

Confectionery By Nutworks caters to consumers seeking an elevated confectionery offering such as Macadamia Brittle, Macadamia Rocky Road or Macadamia Caramel Fudge. “This is for people who want something beyond a basic sweet treat,” says Sarah. “It’s a really sophisticated, handcrafted confectionery range.”

Nourish By Nutworks is for the whole-foods fan with nutritious toasted muesli and raw macadamias on offer. “Consumers know macadamias offer compelling health benefits. The Nourish range was created for the health-conscious shopper who wants their macadamias raw or oven roasted,” says Sarah.

And finally, Chefs Pantry By Nutworks is a range dedicated to the home chef. “The at-home chef wants to emulate what they see gourmet chefs doing, whether that’s using macadamia pieces in a salad or baked goods, drizzling macadamia oil in a dressing or using macadamia butter in gelato. All these macadamia formats are available in foodservice channels, and we want them to be readily available on supermarket shelves for consumers to enjoy too.”

Nutty By Nature: a new concept in macadamia snacking

Nutworks has also created a value snacking brand called Nutty By Nature that features macadamias in a way not previously seen in the snacking category.

While macadamias aren’t new to snack products, they’re usually mixed with other nut varieties. Pure macadamia snack products are rarer, and where Nutty By Nature changes the game is by featuring smaller bite-sized macadamia halves, rather than large halves or whole kernel.

“Smaller style macadamia pieces are often overlooked for other purposes due to their size,” says Sarah. “But they still massively deliver on quality in terms of taste and texture. What hasn’t been recognised in the past is that these smaller pieces are actually super snackable, and that’s where Nutty By Nature comes in.”

The Nutty By Nature range comprises four popular flavour variants – Roast Salt, Salted Chilli, Rosemary & Sea Salt, and Roasted Garlic. Available in bulk 350-gram packs, every macadamia chip is coated in delicious natural flavour making it a snack that really packs a punch.

“Because the pieces are smaller, the flavour is more concentrated which makes for a highly satisfying snacking experience,” explains Sarah. “People tend to snack with their hands, whether that’s chips, wasabi peas or nut mixes. Nutty by Nature is perfect for that – you can pour a handful, shoot them back and enjoy the flavour profile that hits your mouth. They’re so tasty. And the larger pack size makes them economical and perfect for sharing.”

NielsenIQ1 recently revealed that food and grocery prices are now the top concern for 40% of consumers, up from 34% in mid 2022 and a recessionary mindset is prompting many people to scrutinise their spending more closely. FMCG Gurus2 agrees, saying 2023 will be defined as a year of financial uncertainty in which “affordable indulgences for reward and escapism purposes will be popular.” Sarah Leonard says the Nutty By Nature launch aligns with this consumer sentiment.

“By using our smaller style kernel, we’re giving consumers a way to experience an amazing tasting premium snack with all the health benefits of macadamias at a value price,” she says. “Nutty By Nature gives retailers the opportunity to be part of this category development story,” says Sarah.

The importance of Australian origin

Australian macadamia industry research highlights the value consumers place on ingredient origin, with 82% saying origin is important to them when purchasing macadamia nuts. It also revealed how highly Australian origin is regarded, with 90% of Australian consumers and more than 50% of consumers surveyed across Asia and the US ranking Australia as one of the most appealing macadamia origins3.

The Australian origin of the macadamias used in all Nutworks products is an important component of the purity and quality story of its brands.

“Australia is the natural home of the macadamia, and many Australian consumers recognise that. They love the exceptional creamy texture and taste that Australian grown delivers and they enjoy it for any occasion, whether that’s everyday eating or a special moment,” says Sarah.

“The desire for Australian grown products in our domestic market is stronger since the pandemic. It has become part of people’s shopping experience to find food that is grown here. Parochial support for our growers is part of this, but we have taken it even further by having our new brand and packaging developed on the Sunshine Coast, with our packs also manufactured in Australia. We’re proud to present the full Australian package to the world.”

In terms of export markets, Sarah says Australian origin adds cues of quality, freshness and reliability in the eyes of consumers. “When a product is Australian grown, it’s automatically implied that it’s premium quality which is a great base to start from. The unique flavours of our products then add another layer on top of this.”

Future plans

While Australia is the current focus of Nutworks’ latest launch, interest is emerging from overseas too.

“We supplied a major retailer in Hong Kong with By Nutworks products for Chinese New Year, and they have since reordered. The Chinese market loves sophisticated and beautifully packaged products like these. It’s really encouraging, and we have plans for further expansion into Asia,” reveals Sarah.

New flavours also figure heavily in Nutworks’ innovation pipeline. “Our research shows people really like different and unique flavours. You have to offer the favourite staples, but trying new combinations is so important. Once we roll out these initial offerings we will be driving new flavour opportunities hard both within Australia and internationally.”

Congratulations to the Nutworks team on the launch. We look forward to watching the continued success of this innovative Australian retail brand.


1 NielsenIQ NIQ 2023 Consumer Outlook Survey
2 FMCG Gurus, Top Ten Trends for 2023, January 2023
3 Australian Macadamias quantitative consumer research based on 6014 individual surveys with consumers in Australia, China, South Korea, Japan, Taiwan and the USA. Conducted by the Singapore independent research agency Kantar, August – October 2020.

Subscribe to The Macadamia Review

Our monthly e-newsletter
  • By submitting this form you agree to let us collect your personal information in order to contact you back. Read more at our privacy policy

Latest stories

See more news

Food trends, macadamia shells and health research: our top 6 stories of 2023

2023 delivered a unique mix of challenges and highlights, from cost of living pressures, the rise of AI, ongoing climate change concerns and war in the Middle East and Ukraine. We also saw India become the world’s most populous country, the end of the COVID-19 pandemic officially declared, and outstanding displays of skill and courage throughout the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

2023 Australian Macadamias Yearbook

The 2023 Australian Macadamias Yearbook is a comprehensive overview of our industry’s highlights and performance over the past 12 months. It provides a summary of all key facets of the Australian macadamia industry, including:

The stand-out macadamia product discoveries of 2023

2023 has been another strong year for new products containing macadamias, as manufacturers across markets and categories embrace the multi-layered benefits that Australia’s native nut can deliver as an ingredient.

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.

  • By submitting this form you agree to let us collect your personal information in order to contact you back. Read more at our privacy policy