啤酒、消费者洞察和巧克力:2021年我们最喜欢的澳洲坚果故事

在2021年到来的时候,我们曾期望新冠疫情对生活的挑战可以成为过去式。然而,随着新变异病毒的出现,“封城”此起彼伏,国际旅行依然困难重重,疫情持续影响着我们周围的世界。不过,生活中仍然有着发光点和令人兴奋的进展。疫苗接种计划在全球范围内得以加强,东京奥运会终于如期举行,同时在格拉斯哥召开的联合国气候变化大会(COP26)上,世界各国领导人达成协议,共同致力于减少导致全球气候变化的碳排放问题。

 过去这一年,澳大利亚坚果产业的积极乐观和创新精神一如往昔,2021年出色的收成,带来了澳洲坚果果仁销量的上升。澳大利亚种植的澳洲坚果,生长在大自然为之选择的原产地。正如我们过去12个月的头条新闻所显示的那样, 清晰明了的原产地故事,敬业、合作的产业,正是澳洲坚果的独特优势所在,而这也与当代消费者的口味,兴趣和生活方式达成了完美匹配。

2021年引发共鸣的故事

#1: 全新推广 聚焦澳洲坚果创新者

2021年的澳洲坚果创新者故事系列,介绍了澳洲坚果不可思议的广泛用途,以及对此加以充分利用的创意人士。马克·哈里森(Marc Harrison)用压碎的澳洲坚果壳设计出了一款蜚声世界的Husque品牌碗,也由此启动了一场新的推广,让消费者了解、并启发他们进一步去发现澳洲坚果所具备的更多独特性能。

#2:以原产地获得信赖

2021年,我们的研究表明,食品成分产地对全球各地的许多消费者而言都极其重要。事实上在一些市场,高达95%的消费者表示这是购买澳洲坚果时的一个重要考虑因素。澳大利亚作为澳洲坚果的故乡,无疑是种植这种美味坚果的理想之地。这里展示了几个畅销品牌是如何讲好他们的食品主要成分的故事的。

#3:天然营养师到访班德堡

在六月,澳大利亚营养师、饮食专家、意见领袖林迪·科恩(Lyndi Cohen, 又名“天然营养师”)访问了澳大利亚最大的澳洲坚果种植区班德堡。我们的团队为她介绍了一系列精彩的关于澳洲坚果的体验,由此而产生的澳洲坚果相关报道,通过传统媒体和社交媒体的传播,约720万潜在消费者知悉了这些令人兴奋的澳洲坚果体验故事。

Lyndi Cohen and macadamia grower Tony Pashley sitting in a macadamia orchard

#4:澳洲坚果啤酒:STONE & WOOD推出MALTY MAC啤酒 

传统工艺、古老坚果和现代口味的融合,诞生了Malty Mac (意为“麦芽澳洲坚果”)- 这一独特的限量版啤酒,由位于拜伦湾的啤酒厂 Stone and Wood 于 2021 年 11 月与澳洲坚果协会合作打造。该款金色的啤酒在风味上取得巨大的成功,它向消费者展示了澳洲坚果可以融入食品和饮料产品的众多方式之一。

A schooner of Malty Mac beer surrounded by macadamia kernels and shells.

#5:比以往任何时候都更了解澳洲坚果消费者 

当消费者说"健康食品"时,到底意味着什么?“健康食品”在生活中扮演了怎样的角色?这些问题是我们在澳大利亚、日本、中国大陆以及中国台湾地区、韩国和美国对6000多人进行调研时想要努力了解的部分内容,以此检视当下消费者对澳洲坚果的认识和消费模式,以及人们对食品和健康的看法。

A bowl of macadamias surrounded by fresh fruit on a board held on a person's lap

#6:纯素巧克力澳洲坚果,推广植物风味美食

企业家布里吉德·伍尔诺(Brig Woolnough)在她新推出的产品——NOMU NOMS品牌植物基巧克力澳洲坚果系列中,借力了当下“良知消费”的几个趋势。这些使用可持续包装的纯素食品将澳洲坚果聚焦于舞台正中央,展示出澳洲坚果将高度创新和超级美味相结合的能力。

NOMU NOMS chocolate covered macadamias surrounded by macadamia kernels, fresh strawberries and swirls of balsamic vinegar.

#7:消费者吃的坚果足够多了吗?(剧透预警:否)

尽管世界各地的饮食指南都在提倡将澳洲结果列入日常食谱,但人们的坚果摄入量远低于推荐水平。在这篇文章中,我们揭示了消费者在享用坚果时所面临的壁垒,并探索消费者当前的行为与他们所忽视的饮食建议之间的差距所在,以及我们如何弥合这一差距。

A woman eating a macadamia nut.

2022年,新的开始

2022年对澳洲坚果行业来说又是一个重要年份,我们期待随时向您通报与健康、创新、生产和消费者相关的最新消息。

如果您有任何问题想在同业新闻中得到解答,或者希望我们了解含有澳洲坚果的新产品,请发邮件联系至chinamarket@macadamias.org 与我们联系。

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to the macadamia review to get more news like this delivered straight to your inbox.

    • 您同意让我们收集您的个人信息,以便与您联系。进一步了解我们的隐私政策。

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.

    • 您同意让我们收集您的个人信息,以便与您联系。进一步了解我们的隐私政策。

Beer, consumer insights and chocolate: Our favourite macadamia stories of 2021

As 2021 dawned, we hoped the challenges of COVID-19 were behind us. However, as new virus variants emerged, lockdowns came and went, and international travel remained challenging, the pandemic continued to shape the world around us. Yet there were bright spots and exciting developments. Vaccination programs ramped up globally, the Tokyo Olympics finally went ahead and the COP26 meeting in Glasgow saw some concerted efforts from world leaders to reduce climate-change causing emissions.

 Amid all this, the positivity and creativity of the Australian macadamia industry has endured, with an upswing in Australian kernel sales capped off by an outstanding 2021 crop. Grown in locations where they naturally evolved with a clear provenance story and a dedicated and collaborative industry, the unique benefits of Australian grown macadamias are an ideal match for the tastes, interests and lifestyles of modern consumers, as our top stories of the last 12 months show.

The stories that resonated in 2021

#1: MACADAMIA CHANGE MAKERS TAKE CENTRE STAGE

Our 2021 Macadamia Change Makers series profiled the incredible versatility of the macadamia and the creative people who make the most of it. Marc Harrison, famous for designing the iconic, internationally famous Husque bowls from crushed macadamia shells, kicked off the campaign designed to inform and inspire consumers to discover more about the unique properties of macadamias.

#2: GAINING TRUST THROUGH ORIGIN

In 2021 our research showed just how significant ingredient origin is to many consumers around the world. In fact, in some markets up to 95% of consumers said this was an important consideration when purchasing macadamia nuts. As the original home of macadamias, Australia is the ideal environment in which to grow this delicious nut. This story shows how several leading brands are telling the story of their hero ingredient.

#3: THE NUDE NUTRITIONIST VISITS BUNDABERG

In June, Australian nutritionist, dietitian and influencer Lyndi Cohen (AKA the Nude Nutritionist) visited Bundaberg, Australia’s largest macadamia growing region. Our team introduced her to a variety of exciting macadamia experiences and the resulting traditional and social media coverage reached an estimated potential 7.2 million consumers with the macadamia story.

Lyndi Cohen and macadamia grower Tony Pashley sitting in a macadamia orchard

#4: MACADAMIA BEER: STONE & WOOD LAUNCHES MALTY MAC 

Traditional processes, an ancient nut and modern tastes combined to create Malty Mac – a unique, limited-edition lager brewed in collaboration with Australian Macadamias by Byron Bay brewery Stone and Wood in November 2021. This golden brew was a flavour triumph and showcased one of the many ways that macadamias can be incorporated into food and beverage products.

A schooner of Malty Mac beer surrounded by macadamia kernels and shells.

#5: GETTING TO KNOW MACADAMIA CONSUMERS BETTER THAN EVER 

What exactly do consumers mean when they say, ‘healthy food’? And what role does it play in their lives? These were just some of the questions we were striving to understand when we surveyed more than 6,000 people in Australia, Japan, China, Taiwan, South Korea and the USA to examine current macadamia perceptions and consumption patterns, as well as consumer sentiment around food and health more broadly.

A bowl of macadamias surrounded by fresh fruit on a board held on a person's lap

#6: PUSHING PLANT-FORWARD FLAVOUR BOUNDARIES WITH VEGAN CHOCOLATE MACADAMIAS

Entrepreneur Brigid Woolnough harnesses several trends around ethical consumption in her new plant-forward NOMU NOMS chocolate covered macadamia range. These sustainably packaged vegan creations put macadamias front and centre, showcasing their ability to carry highly innovative and super indulgent flavour combinations.

NOMU NOMS chocolate covered macadamias surrounded by macadamia kernels, fresh strawberries and swirls of balsamic vinegar.

#7: ARE CONSUMERS EATING ENOUGH NUTS? (SPOILER ALERT: NO)

Despite promotion of nut consumption in dietary guidelines around the world, nut intake is well below recommended levels. In this piece, we unpacked the barriers consumers face around eating nuts, exploring what sits between consumers’ current behaviour and the recommendations they’re ignoring, and how we can bridge that gap.

A woman eating a macadamia nut.

Here’s to the start of 2022

It’s set to be another big year for the Australian macadamia industry and we’re looking forward to keeping you updated on the latest health, innovation, production and consumer news.

If you have any questions you would like answered in our trade news, or a new product containing macadamias we should know about, contact Australian Macadamias Market Development Manager Jacqui Price.

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to the macadamia review to get more news like this delivered straight to your inbox.

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.