全新推广| 聚焦澳洲坚果创新者

马克 ·哈里森是一位“木语者”,也是解决问题的高手、艺术家、家具制造商。他让澳洲坚果的果壳和果树木材变身为备受青睐的美丽物件。这些物件在他的自有品牌Husque旗下,已经成为代表澳大利亚的标志产品。

马克的故事,揭幕了新一轮澳洲坚果消费者推广活动。这一系列“澳洲坚果创新者”故事,将聚焦于一些澳洲品牌和有所作为的个人,他们以极富创造性的方式使用澳洲坚果,丰富了我们的生活。

点击观看以下推广视频:

为渴望了解澳洲坚果的观众打造

在澳大利亚,热爱澳洲坚果的粉丝们渴望了解澳洲坚果,并从中获得启发。尤其是我们的澳大利亚观众,从不惧怕尝试、探索和拥抱新的产品,他们正寻找可以信赖的品牌,以及他们愿意投入精力、兴趣和资金的产品。

这轮全新推广活动将在澳大利亚、日本、中国大陆、中国台湾地区和韩国展开,我们会分享澳洲坚果人、坚果品牌开拓崭新天地的故事,并邀约世界各地的消费者来发现、揭秘和探索。

了解一个澳大利亚的标志性产品

出生于新西兰的马克·哈里森,14岁来到澳大利亚追逐梦想与冒险。当年,他在布里斯班作为工匠为人重新装修一栋房子的时候,第一次邂逅澳洲坚果树。

"因为那儿恰好有一棵澳洲坚果树,我第一次知道澳洲果仁的外壳是有多硬。开始,我试着用石头敲开它, 然后升级到锤子, 最后用到一个环形扳手才搞定。而当我真正尝到坚果迷人的滋味时,才明白如此大费周折打开坚果的原因所在,"马克回忆道。

Hands holding a macadamia in the husk

这第一次邂逅,让马克了解到澳洲坚果之于澳大利亚人的重要意义。后来,他在一间家具制造公司工作期间,更看到了澳洲坚果外壳作为一种材料的无限可能。

“我向来有兴趣做点不一样的事情,”他说,“我想尝试将艺术与制造业结合在一起,看看能否做出一些非同寻常的成果。”

一个新的标志性产品是如何诞生的

马克知道,有西班牙公司使用废弃的杏仁壳制作棺材。因此,当有供应商给他看澳洲坚果壳磨成的粉末时,他开始了新的尝试。他将澳洲坚果壳的粉末与树脂混合,得到一种美丽顺滑的材料,再将之塑形成为澳洲坚果形状的碗。如今,澳洲坚果壳碗已成为“澳大利亚设计”的标志性产品。

A Husque macadamia bowl

"澳洲坚果壳的保温性能高,所以触感极好。你拿着它的时候,它就调整到你的体温,这个特性很为产品的手感加分,"他解释道。

马克工作室手工制作的澳洲坚果壳碗,在Husque品牌官网和当地的艺廊有售。2010年,脱口秀女王奥普拉·温弗瑞访问澳大利亚时,更被作为官方礼物赠送给她。

澳洲坚果木材项目

马克眼下从事的项目,是使用澳洲坚果木,制作美丽又独特的家具手柄。许多澳洲坚果的种植者都觉得,从果园修剪下来的枝干木纹很美,但对马克而言,这是一种颇具挑战性的材料。

A piece of macadamia timber

马克解释说,“几天到几周之内,木材就开始开裂,一旦裂开就基本上没用了。这种木材不能很好地均匀干燥成熟。”他必须开发新技术,处理好短而厚,且粗糙多节的木材,这时候就要展现他作为一个的艺术家创造力了。

Sawing macadamia timber

“真正的突破,是当我尝试在木材仍是绿色,还没有干透之前就进行贴面。成功的一刻终于到来,我可以早晨砍伐澳洲坚果树的树枝,在下午结束之前完成手柄的贴面与塑形。和我手臂一般大小的树枝,可以制作20到40个手柄。”

Macadamia wood furniture handle

当艺术遇上工业

虽然马克的产品站在工业设计的前沿,但他首先以艺术家和制造者的身份对待自己的作品,与合作的原材料对话。正是这种自己动手、亲力亲为的创造力,让马克如此成功地打造了澳洲坚果创新产品。

“澳洲坚果是澳大利亚的一个重要部分,并且正在成为世界的一个重要部分,”马克说,“他们也是我生活的一个重要部分。其实,我想说,Husque是我毕生的工作。”

观看视频中马克的故事,敬请期待更多的澳洲坚果创新者。

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to the macadamia review to get more news like this delivered straight to your inbox.

    • 您同意让我们收集您的个人信息,以便与您联系。进一步了解我们的隐私政策。

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.

    • 您同意让我们收集您的个人信息,以便与您联系。进一步了解我们的隐私政策。

Macadamia Change Makers take centre stage in new campaign

Marc Harrison is a ‘wood whisperer’. A problem-solver, artist and furniture maker, he  turns macadamia shell and timber into desirable, beautiful objects that have become icons of Australia under his brand Husque.

It’s Marc’s story that is launching Australian Macadamias new consumer campaign. Called Macadamia Change Makers, it will shine a spotlight on Australian brands and achievers using macadamias in creative and life-enriching ways.

Watch the first campaign video now:

Feeding a hungry audience

Australian Macadamias fans are eager to be informed and inspired about the macadamia experience. Our Australian audience in particular, is not afraid to experiment, explore and embrace the new, and they’re seeking brands they can believe in, and products they feel good investing their energy, interest and money in.

This new campaign, which will run in Australia, Japan, China, Taiwan and South Korea,  is an invitation for consumers around the world to discover, uncover and explore, as we share stories of people and brands that are breaking new ground with macadamias.

Learning about an Australian icon

Originally from New Zealand, Marc Harrison came to Australia aged 14, dreaming of adventure. It was here he had his first encounter with a macadamia tree, while renovating a house as a tradesman in Brisbane.

“There was a macadamia tree there, and that’s when I first experienced how hard the shell is. I began by trying to crack it with a rock, graduating to a hammer and then finally a ring spanner. I eventually understood the point of it all when I experienced how amazing the nut tastes,” Marc recalls.

Hands holding a macadamia in the husk

This first encounter helped Marc understand the importance of macadamias to the Australian psyche. Then a residency with a furniture manufacturing company opened his eyes to the incredible possibilities of macadamia shell as a material.

“I was always very interested in doing things a little bit differently,” he says. “I wanted to try and combine art and manufacturing together and see if we could come up with some unusual solutions.”

The shaping of a new icon

Marc knew that Spanish companies were using waste almond shells to make coffins, so when a supplier showed him some pure macadamia shell powder he began experimenting. He combined the powdered macadamia shell with resin to create a beautiful smooth material that he shaped into his signature macadamia-shaped bowls that are now icons of Australian design.

A Husque macadamia bowl

“The macadamia shell has great thermal quality, so it’s nice to touch. It adjusts to your body temperature when you’re holding it. That gives it a certain tactile quality,” he explains.

Made by hand in Marc’s studio, the bowls are for sale through Husque and local galleries. Oprah Winfrey was presented with one as an official gift when she toured Australia in 2010.

The macadamia wood project

Marc’s current project uses macadamia tree wood to craft beautiful and unique furniture handles. Many growers appreciate the beautiful grain in the macadamia wood that they prune from their orchards, but Marc says it’s a challenging material to work with.

A piece of macadamia timber

“Within a matter of days and weeks the timber starts to split, making it very hard to actually do anything with. It doesn’t season nicely and evenly,” he explains. Marc had to develop techniques that would work with very short, thick and gnarly bits of wood, and that’s where his creativity as an artist came in.

Sawing macadamia timber

“The real breakthrough came when I looked at veneering the timber while it’s still green, before it’s even had a chance to dry out. Eventually I got to a point where I could cut a branch off the macadamia tree in the morning, and have this veneered, moulded handle by the afternoon. A tree limb the size of my arm can yield between 20 and 40 handles.”

Macadamia wood furniture handle

Art meets industry

Although Marc’s products are at the forefront of industrial design, he approaches his work as an artist and maker first, letting the materials speak to him as he works with them. It’s that hands-on creativity that has allowed Marc to innovate so successfully with macadamias.

“Macadamias are a big part of Australia, and they’re becoming a big part of the world,” he says. “They’re a big part of my life too. In fact, I would say that Husque is my life’s work.”

Be sure to watch Marc’s story and stay tuned for more Macadamia Change Makers coming soon.

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to the macadamia review to get more news like this delivered straight to your inbox.

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.