2022年3月市场报告

面对充满挑战的市场,澳洲坚果产业仍然保持韧性

供应

根据最初的预测,2022年澳大利亚的带壳澳洲坚果产量为54,930吨(含水量3.5%),若以含水量10%计,则预计产量为58,900吨。但近期气候情况恶劣,待5月对其相关后续影响进行全面评估后,这一预计产量可能下调。 

南非澳洲坚果协会(SAMAC)目前预测2022年收成为57,723吨干燥带壳坚果(若以含水量10%计,则预计产量为62,215吨),比2021年高出8%。

Graph of global macadamia crop volumes 2017-2021

需求

在前五大市场中,澳洲坚果果仁进口比上一个MAT周期增长6%。不过,尽管中国大陆和香港地区(+21%)和澳洲国内市场(+10%)表现突出,日本也有所改善(+7%),欧洲(+3%)和美国(0%)这两个最大的市场尚未出现任何显著增长。

市场消息人士表示,因新冠疫情对零食市场的影响有限,澳洲坚果仁的整体市场需求仍然强劲。但由于两年来户外消费场景减少,国际旅行持续受限,导致食品成分原料的价格竞争日益加剧。

与2020年(MAT 1月-12月)相比,2021年中国的带壳澳洲坚果进口大幅增长(+54%),市场信息表明,这是由于中国本土的澳洲坚果收成低于预期。据报道,来自澳大利亚的进口量增加了1,500吨(+ 13%),但大部分进口增长来自南非、危地马拉、美国和津巴布韦。

Graph of macadamia kernel imports to top 5 markets MAT Dec to Nov

澳洲坚果销售

总体而言,澳洲坚果产业凸显韧性,果仁销售已接近疫情之前的水平,这主要归功于在亚洲和欧洲的强劲销售,以及在美国的销售恢复增长。

AMHA报告称,截至2021年12月,除日本之外的所有主要亚洲市场在MAT周期均实现强劲销售增长。韩国和中国的果仁销售尤其出色,分别增长40%和67%。得益于FTA自由贸易协定,澳大利亚产品继续在韩国市场占据主导地位。澳大利亚产的澳洲坚果在美国的销售情况也持续改善。

展望2022年,澳洲坚果产业所面临的主要挑战,是果仁作为食品原料的价格竞争将在全球持续,而供应链成本不断上升、情况日益复杂化的情况预计将持续到2023年。

Graph showing Australian macadamias sales MAT Jan to Dec

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to the macadamia review to get more news like this delivered straight to your inbox.

    • 您同意让我们收集您的个人信息,以便与您联系。进一步了解我们的隐私政策。

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.

    • 您同意让我们收集您的个人信息,以便与您联系。进一步了解我们的隐私政策。

March 2022 market report

Australian industry remains resilient in the face of challenging market conditions

Supply

The initial crop forecast published for the Australian 2022 season predicted a crop of 54,930 tonnes in-shell @ 3.5% moisture (58,900 t in-shell @ 10% moisture). However this is likely to be revised downwards in May once the impacts of the recent extreme weather conditions are fully understood. 

Macadamias South Africa’s (SAMAC’s) current projection for their 2022 crop is 57,723 tonnes dry nut-in-shell (62,215 tonnes @ 10% moisture), 8% higher than 2021.

Graph of global macadamia crop volumes 2017-2021

Demand

Across the top five markets, macadamia kernel imports are up 6% on the prior MAT period. However, while China/HK (+21%) and the domestic market (+10%) are performing strongly and Japan is seeing some improvement (+7%), the two largest markets of Europe (+3%) and USA (0%) are not yet experiencing any significant growth.

Market sources advise demand for whole kernel remains strong due to the limited impact of COVID on the snacking market. However, two years of reduced out-of-home consumption and ongoing international travel restrictions are driving increased price competition in the ingredient styles.

In-shell imports to China were up significantly (+54%) for 2021 compared to 2020 (MAT January to December) with market sources indicating this was driven by the Chinese crop performing below expectations. While Australia’s imports were reported to be up 1,500 tonnes (+13%), the major movers were South Africa, Guatemala, United States and Zimbabwe.

Graph of macadamia kernel imports to top 5 markets MAT Dec to Nov

Australian sales

Overall, the Australian industry is proving resilient with Australian kernel sales moving closer to pre-COVID levels, largely due to strong sales in Asia and Europe, and US sales returning to growth.

The AMHA reported robust sales growth on the prior year’s MAT period to December 2021 in all key Asian markets except Japan. Kernel sales into South Korea and China have been particularly strong (+40% and +67% respectively). Australia continues to hold a dominant position in the South Korean market due to the FTA advantage. Australian sales into the USA show ongoing improvement.

Looking ahead in 2022, key challenges for the Australian industry will be continued global price competition in ingredient style kernel and increasing costs and complexity in the supply chain, with these conditions expected to continue into 2023.

Graph showing Australian macadamias sales MAT Jan to Dec

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to the macadamia review to get more news like this delivered straight to your inbox.

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.