新的调味澳洲坚果碎是用途极广的大师级产品

推出新的澳洲坚果产品总是令人兴奋,特别是当它在口味和形式方面开创新局面时。最近,一种新的调味澳洲坚果碎做到了这一点,并且实现了关键的创新机会,这个机会源自我们行业对未来几年食品和饮料行业格局的新兴趋势的研究。

图片:由Gondwana Macadamias提供

Gondwana Macadamias的调味澳洲坚果碎是我们2023年澳洲坚果产品的卓越探索之一,它符合“风味互换”这一创新领域,通过对美味小吃和产品的灵感升级,该领域突显了澳洲坚果可用于多用途的机会。

该系列由澳大利亚坚果种植者和产品开发商Mel和Ron Caccianiga开发。他们将澳洲坚果描述为“地球上最喜欢的东西”,对他们所提供的一切,并且对澳洲坚果提供的一切充满热情,从健康益处和饱腹感,再到其醇厚和松脆的口感。

然而,两位企业家也认为,长期以来,澳洲坚果一直被视为一种只能偶尔享用的奢侈品。 他们致力于改变这一现状,相信食品制造商应该利用这个机会来创造相应产品,使澳洲坚果成为一种优质且日常可用的美食。

Gondwana 调味澳洲坚果碎的神奇之处

七年前,Mel和Ron从再生肉牛养殖转型,进入澳洲坚果行业。虽然种植澳洲坚果是他们计划的重点,但是他们的视野超越了果园。

Mel分享道:“增值一直是计划的一部分,但我们花了很长时间才找到一家合适的澳洲坚果农场,这给了我们很多时间思考不同的产品创意。我们能看到澳洲坚果是最不可思议的原材料——没有其他东西可以与之相比。我们坚定能实现目标,最终努力得到回报,找到了合适的澳洲坚果农场。

Caccianigas目前在新南威尔士州北部河流地区拥有两个澳洲坚果果园,并推出了名为Gondwana Macadamias的一系列澳洲坚果烹饪和美容产品,其中Gondwana 调味澳洲坚果碎自2023年8月推出以来迅速赢得了大批的追随者。

Gondwana 调味澳洲坚果碎有五种款式可供选择,第六种即将推出,它是配料型澳洲坚果仁组成的优质产品,堪称杰出范例。 每种款式都是澳洲坚果片、其他坚果、种子和当地植物的独特混合:

沉醉:澳洲坚果和山核桃加咸焦糖
奢华:澳洲坚果、芝麻、金合欢籽和洛神花
雨林:澳洲坚果、山核桃、本地指橙、胡椒浆果、椰子和一点姜
异域:澳洲坚果、芝麻、榛子、开心果和传统的杜卡香草和香料
丛林:澳洲坚果、杏仁、开心果、柠檬香桃、粉红胡椒、芝麻和香料

Gondwana 调味澳洲坚果碎产品系列

这一系列用途极广的澳洲坚果产品,可用于增强红肉、禽肉、猪肉、鱼类和其他海鲜、汤、酱料、沙拉、酸奶、粥、冰淇淋和甜点。

Mel表示:“我想创建一个帮助人们在每天、每顿饭都能享受澳洲坚果的系列产品。这对那些喜欢吃干净的全食,但又忙碌并希望迅速解决用餐的人来说是完美的。作为一名厨师,我喜欢手边有一些小东西,可以使食物从无聊变得惊艳,对我来说,这个澳洲坚果碎系列就像在你或甜或咸的食物上撒些魔法。”

“它增加了视觉吸引力和口感,而且味道层次丰富,仿佛在口中流淌。尝试经典的一餐,比如一碗南瓜汤,加上具有异域风味的澳洲坚果调味系列,味道如此令人满足,甚至不需要面包。”

利用配料型澳洲坚果仁的力量

Mel表示,当她知道较小型号的澳洲坚果样式被低估和未被充分利用时,她感到很沮丧,于是诞生了澳洲坚果碎系列。

她解释道:“我们知道,整个澳洲坚果仁(样式0和样式1)始终是食品制造商的热门选择,但作为农民,我们无法种植出整片的整个澳洲坚果仁,因为当它们被打开时,并非每个坚果都完整地从壳里出来。不过,在每一次收获中,这些较小的颗粒作为原料是非常棒的,因为你不一定需要大颗粒或整粒来提升产品的味道和口感。”

“澳洲坚果碎系列是对较小型号的澳洲坚果样式的庆祝,以及如何利用它来创建一种美味尊享的产品,可供日常使用。”

图片:由Gondwana Macadamias提供

在与Ron结婚并成为农民之前,Mel曾是一名商业厨师,因此食物和味道是她感到自在的领域。

“当我开始尝试较小型号的澳洲坚果样式时,问题就变成了风味开发应该在哪停止,因为它们用途非常广泛。事实上,Ron对我实施了短期的产品开发禁令,因为我似乎停不下来尝试新东西!”她笑着说:“但我们即将推出第六种款式。它叫做“珊瑚礁”,它将澳洲坚果与柠檬草和含盐灌木混合在一起。”

制造商的机会

Mel认为现在是制造商探索澳洲坚果潜力的最佳时机。

她说:“人们喜欢澳洲坚果,这是最重要的。他们越来越意识到坚果对健康的惊人益处,并希望将其加入饮食。作为创新者,我们有机会让人们每天都能享用它们。”

“使用它们的方式多到让我大吃一惊。 对于制造商来说,现在是勇敢地尝试用澳洲坚果制作产品的绝佳时机。”

从逆境中崛起,专注于未来

虽然Mel和Ron成功地转型,为澳洲坚果种植者推出了创新产品线,但这条道路上并非一帆风顺。

Mel 和Ron Caccianiga夫妇在他们的澳洲坚果果园里

2022年,北部河流地区遭受了有史以来最严重的洪灾。灾害的规模前所未见,损失和破坏给受灾群体带来了巨大的痛苦。

洪水袭来时,Mel和Ron刚刚种植完 10,000 棵澳洲坚果树,其中大部分都没有存活下来。这是一次毁灭性的损失,但这对夫妇拒绝让这些打击破坏他们的计划,在这个极具挑战性的背景下,Gondwana 产品线的推出显得更加令人印象深刻。

Mel分享道:“我们失去了8,000棵树,因此我们不得不花大量时间重建受洪水影响的果园。这非常艰难,但预计我们今年晚些时候应该可以从那个果园获得第一次收成,所以恢复工作正在顺利进行。”

这意味着这对夫妇已经为他们产品线的下一个发展阶段做好了准备。

她说:“我们正在考虑创建一个更大的全职生产空间,用以帮助扩展规模,我们正在寻找与我们一样热衷于再生农业和可持续性的当地原料供应商。我们还希望通过扩大本地经销商网络和探索出口机会来扩大分销范围。”

经历了几年的艰难时光,对于Gondwana Macadamias来说,未来看起来充满希望。我们迫不及待期待下一章的揭开。

Subscribe to The Macadamia Review

Our monthly e-newsletter
  • 通过提交此表格,表示您同意让我们收集您的个人信息,以便与您联系。请阅读更多关于我们的隐私政策。 privacy policy

最新资讯

更多资讯

认识澳洲坚果丰收背后的耕耘者

澳大利亚的澳洲坚果产业拥有约 800 家种植商,主要分布在澳大利亚东海岸富饶肥沃的种植区。目前,正是他们一年中最繁忙的收获季节。

打破传说:科学研究证实坚果与体重增加的真相

在这个饮食潮流时常变化的世界上,有一个事实却始终岿然不动:坚果是营养的源泉,具有多种风味、口感和健康益处。尽管坚果具有诱人的烹饪魅力和已被证实的优势,但一个挥之不去的误解却始终存在,那就是坚果会导致不必要的体重增加这一毫无根据的观点。然而,最近的大量科学研究驳斥了这一传说。

从萃取到创新:为什么澳洲坚果油是烹饪和化妆品界的英雄?

澳洲坚果油常被形容为 "液体黄金",仔细研究一下它对健康的益处和多功能性就会明白其中的原因。澳洲坚果油不含胆固醇、钠、糖和反式脂肪,是维生素 E、有益心脏健康的不饱和脂肪、棕榈油酸和植物甾醇的来源。是一种用途广泛的油脂,既可用于家庭厨房和食品,也可用于抗衰老护肤品。 

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.

  • 通过提交此表格,表示您同意让我们收集您的个人信息,以便与您联系。请阅读更多关于我们的隐私政策。 privacy policy

New seasoned macadamia crumb a masterclass in versatility

The launch of a new macadamia product is always exciting, especially when it breaks new ground in terms of flavour and format. A new seasoned macadamia crumb recently did exactly that, while bringing to life a key innovation opportunity that emerged from our industry’s research exploring the emerging trends set to shape the food and beverage landscape over the coming years.

Image: courtesy Gondwana Macadamias

Gondwana Macadamias Seasoned Macadamia Crumb was one of our stand-out macadamia product discoveries of 2023, and it aligned with the innovation territory called ‘savoury swaps’ which highlighted an opportunity to showcase the true versatility of macadamias through inspired upgrades to savoury snacks and products.

The range was developed by Australian macadamia growers and product developers Mel and Ron Caccianiga. They describe macadamias as their ‘favourite thing on the planet’ and they’re passionate about everything they offer, from their health benefits and satiety to their creaminess and crunch.

But the entrepreneurial duo also feel that for too long, macadamias have been put on a pedestal as a luxury to be enjoyed only on occasion. They’re on a mission to change that, believing that food manufacturers should be capitalising on the opportunity to create products that make macadamias a premium, but everyday accessible indulgence.

The magic of Gondwana Seasoned Macadamia Crumb

Mel and Ron entered Australia’s macadamia industry seven years ago, making the transition from regenerative beef cattle farming. While macadamia growing was the centrepiece of their plan, their vision extended beyond the orchard.

“Value adding was always part of the plan,” shares Mel. “But it took ages for us to find a macadamia farm, so it gave us a lot of time to think up different product ideas. We could see that macadamias were the most incredible raw ingredient – nothing else compared. We were determined to make it happen and finally our search paid off when we found the right macadamia farm.”

The Caccianigas now have not one but two macadamia orchards in the New South Wales Northern Rivers region, and a range of macadamia culinary and beauty products called Gondwana Macadamias, with the Gondwana Seasoned Macadamia Crumb quickly gaining a strong following since it launched in August 2023.

Available in five variants, with a sixth coming soon, Gondwana Seasoned Macadamia Crumb is an outstanding example of a premium product formulated using ingredient-style macadamia kernel. Each variant is a unique blend of macadamia pieces, other nuts, seeds and locally sourced botanicals:

Indulge: macadamias and pecans in salted caramel
Decadence: macadamias, sesame seeds, wattle seed and rosella flower
Rainforest: macadamias, pecans, native finger lime, pepper berries, coconut and a hint of ginger
Exotic: macadamias, sesame seeds, hazelnuts, pistachios and traditional dukkah herbs and spices
Bush: macadamias, almonds, pistachios, lemon myrtle, pink peppercorns, sesame seeds and spices

The Gondwana Macadamia Seasoned Crumb product range

The result is a range of incredibly versatile macadamia products that can be used to enhance red meat, poultry, pork, fish and other seafood, soups, dips, salads, yoghurt, porridge, ice cream and desserts.

“I wanted to create a range that helped people enjoy macadamias in every meal, every day. It’s perfect for people who love to eat clean, whole foods but are busy and want quick solutions. As a cook I love having little things at my fingertips that can take something from boring to wow, and to me the crumb range is like sprinkling magic over your food whether that’s sweet or savoury,” says Mel.

“It adds visual appeal and texture, and the flavour profile just rolls through your mouth. Take a classic meal like a bowl of pumpkin soup, add some of our Exotic blend on top and it’s so satisfying, you’ll find you don’t even need bread.”

Leveraging the power of ingredient-style kernel

Mel says the crumb range was born from the frustration she felt knowing that smaller macadamia styles were underappreciated and underutilised.

“We know that whole macadamia kernel (style 0 and 1) is always a popular choice for food manufacturers, but as farmers, we can’t grow entire orchards of whole kernel because when they’re cracked, not every nut comes out of its shell intact. Those smaller pieces that form part of every crop are fabulous as an ingredient though, because you don’t necessarily need large pieces or whole kernel to elevate the taste and texture of a product,” she explains.

“The crumb range is a celebration of the smaller ingredient style of macadamia kernel and how that can be used to create a delicious and luxurious product that can be used every day.”

Image: courtesy Gondwana Macadamias

Before marrying Ron and becoming a farmer, Mel was a commercial cook, so food and flavour is a world where she feels right at home.

“When I started playing with ingredient style macadamias the problem became where to stop with flavour development because they’re just so versatile. In fact Ron has placed a short term product development ban on me because I can’t seem to stop experimenting!” she laughs. “But we’re launching our sixth variant soon. It’s called ‘Reef’, and it blends macadamias with lemongrass and saltbush.”

The opportunity for manufacturers

Mel believes there has never been a better time for manufacturers to explore what’s possible with macadamias.

“People love macadamias, that’s the bottom line. They’re increasingly aware of the amazing health benefits macadamias offer, and they want to add them to their diet. As innovators, there is such an opportunity to make it really easy for people to consume them every day,” Mel says.

“It blows my mind the number of ways you can use them. It’s a brilliant time for manufacturers to be brave and have a go at making something with Australian macadamias.”

Rising from adversity to focus firmly on the future

While Mel and Ron have successfully transitioned to macadamia farming and launched an innovative line of products, there’s been heartache along the way.

Mel and Ron Caccianiga in their macadamia orchard

In 2022, the Northern Rivers was hit by the most catastrophic flooding the region had ever experienced. The scale of the destruction was unlike anything witnessed before, and the loss and damage took an enormous toll on everyone affected.

Mel and Ron had just finished planting 10,000 macadamia trees when the floods hit, most of which did not survive. It was a devastating loss, but the couple refused to let it crush their plans, and the launch of the Gondwana product line is even more impressive against this extremely challenging backdrop.

“We lost 8,000 trees so we’ve had to dedicate a lot of time to rebuilding our flood-affected orchard. It’s been very hard, but we should get our first harvest from that orchard later this year, so the recovery is well underway,” shares Mel.

This means the couple is well positioned to focus on the next stage of growth for their product line.

“We’re looking at creating a larger full-time production space to help us scale, and we’re sourcing local ingredient suppliers who are as passionate about regenerative agriculture and sustainability as we are. We also want to expand our distribution by growing our network of local stockists and exploring export opportunities.”

After a very challenging few years the future looks bright for Gondwana Macadamias. We look forward to watching the next chapter unfold.

Subscribe to The Macadamia Review

Our monthly e-newsletter
  • By submitting this form you agree to let us collect your personal information in order to contact you back. Read more at our privacy policy

Latest stories

See more news

Meet the people behind Australia’s macadamia harvest

Australia’s macadamia industry is home to around 800 growers, primarily located in rich and fertile growing regions extending along the country’s east coast. Right now, it’s their busiest time of year with harvest in full swing.

Dispelling the myth: Scientific research confirms the truth about nuts and weight gain

In a world where dietary trends fluctuate, one fact remains steadfast: nuts are a nutritional powerhouse, offering a medley of flavour, texture and health benefits. Despite their culinary allure and proven advantages, a lingering misconception persists – the unfounded notion that nuts contribute to unwanted weight gain. However, a host of recent scientific research has debunked this myth.

From extraction to innovation: why macadamia oil is a culinary and cosmetic hero

Macadamia oil is often described as ‘liquid gold’ and a closer look at its health benefits and versatility makes it clear why. Free from cholesterol, sodium, sugar and trans fats, as well as a source of vitamin E, heart-healthy monounsaturated fats, palmitoleic acid and phytosterols, it’s a versatile oil that’s just as at home in domestic kitchens and food products as it is in anti-ageing skincare. 

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.

  • By submitting this form you agree to let us collect your personal information in order to contact you back. Read more at our privacy policy