龟甲万在日本推出第一款主流澳洲坚果牛奶产品中推广了原产地澳大利亚

Kikkoman macadamia milk made from Australian grown macadamias

日本标志性食品和饮料品牌龟甲万(Kikkoman)正在主推其最新产品——龟甲万澳洲坚果牛奶的发布。

澳洲坚果牛奶在许多西方市场颇受欢迎,但在日本,它的市场应用仅限于少数几种进口产品中,销售渠道也很窄。龟甲万的新产品是独特的,因为它是日本第一个本土制造的主流澳洲坚果牛奶产品。

扩大植物基产品

植物基牛奶市场正在全球扩张,预计2024年将达到215.2亿美元,2020年至2024年的复合年增长率将超过10%。

由于大豆和杏仁的流行,日本市场对植物基牛奶的需求一直很强劲,龟甲万品牌表示,这个市场还在稳步扩大。

“我们相信,植物基牛奶市场还有进一步增长的潜力。” 龟甲万的一位发言人表示,“这种增长是由多种因素推动的,包括不断增强的健康意识、环境意识和生活方式的选择。”

“随着消费者对植物基牛奶的期望越来越高,我们挑战自我为日本消费者开发新产品以提供更多的选择,这是开发新澳洲坚果牛奶产品的驱动关键。”

龟甲万还表示,它吸引了那些渴望新选择的、常喝大豆、杏仁和燕麦奶的人,以及那些喜欢澳洲坚果的人。

澳洲坚果在日本非常受欢迎,它在糖果、甜点和冰淇淋产品起到重要作用。我们相信澳洲坚果新产品会引起澳洲坚果爱好者的强烈兴趣,因为这是一个享用最喜爱坚果味道的新方式。”

澳洲原产是一个重要的卖点

龟甲万在包装正面和促销活动中标注了澳洲坚果的原产地,因为该公司认为,这增加了产品的可信度和价值。

“澳洲坚果独特的风味和香气是新品的主要特征,所以向消费者保证主要成分来自安全可靠的原产地,同时保证味道好是很重要的。”龟甲万的发言人解释说:“通过在包装上注明澳洲原产地,我们认为消费者会对产品的天然优质有一个印象。”

“随着受众对我们产品了解得越来越多,我们认为他们会越发欣赏和认可,澳洲是澳洲坚果的原产地,美丽的澳洲坚果果园,以及澳洲坚果种植者的故事。”

专为日本人口味设计

龟甲万于2019年初首次在饮料中使用澳洲坚果,当时推出的产品——澳洲坚果风味豆奶,获得了大成功。龟甲万的发言人说,澳洲坚果的独特风味和香气受到了消费者的欢迎。澳洲坚果风味豆奶的流行是品牌方继续开发纯澳洲坚果牛奶决策的另一个因素。

龟甲万表示,新产品理念是根据日本消费者的口味精心设计的。发言人表示:“我们不是复制海外流行的植物基牛奶饮品,而是针对日本市场,从零开始,开发出符合市场特色的澳洲坚果牛奶。”

“我们的配方具有日本消费者认可的理想味道、醇厚口感和满足感。在这方面,我们认为这是一款创新产品。”

该产品在全国超市、便利店和网上都能买到,有两种版本可供选择。“原味”带一点点甜味来增强澳洲坚果的天然奶油味,而“无糖口味”提供了坚果的自然甜味和温和味道。

龟甲万最初是希望鼓励消费者单享坚果牛奶的独特风味,但随着时间推移调整了计划,厂商决定通过添加食用建议来打造产品故事,包括建议在茶和咖啡中使用,在麦片中使用或在其他食品配方中使用。

强大的线上推广

尽管新冠疫情阻碍了龟甲万澳洲坚果牛奶在线下活动的推广,但该品牌有大量的数字业务正在展开,以提升新产品的知名度和推荐试饮活动。

新品的推出还促成了令人兴奋的品牌合作,让日本的澳洲坚果粉丝们有机会赢得龟甲万澳洲坚果牛奶、带壳澳洲坚果和TJ’s nutcracker澳洲坚果钳等奖品,与TJ’s nutcracker特别合作推出的澳洲坚果钳在日本同步发售。

营销活动被发布在Facebook、Instagram、Twitter和澳洲坚果网站上,并在接下来的几周里,被一名Youtube博主和三名Instagram影响力人物(粉丝总数超过290万)加大了活动力度。

Kikkoman macaamia milk Instagr
Image: Instagram (@tomoky_tak)

展望未来

龟甲万澳洲坚果牛奶的推出与我们行业最近对未来食品消费者的研究结果完全一致,研究显示,Z世代越来越倾向于食用植物基产品,无论是为了他们自己的健康,还是为了地球和整个社会的发展。研究指出,作为植物基食品营销活动的根基部分,澳洲坚果是品牌有望吸引和激发年轻消费者的理想原食材。

那么龟甲万团队在发布新品之后对澳洲坚果牛奶有什么计划呢?

该公司发言人表示:“我们希望从向消费者介绍产品的纯正味道开始。”

“但我们正在考虑,在未来推出其他口味与澳洲坚果牛奶结合的产品,以一种能给消费者带来惊喜和愉悦的方式。”

听起来像是成功的秘诀!我们期待龟甲万澳洲坚果牛奶之旅的下一步发展。

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to the macadamia review to get more news like this delivered straight to your inbox.

    • 您同意让我们收集您的个人信息,以便与您联系。进一步了解我们的隐私政策。

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.

    • 您同意让我们收集您的个人信息,以便与您联系。进一步了解我们的隐私政策。

Kikkoman promotes Australian origin in Japan’s first mainstream macadamia milk

Kikkoman macadamia milk made from Australian grown macadamias

Iconic Japanese food and beverage brand Kikkoman is celebrating the launch of its latest product – Kikkoman Macadamia Milk.

While macadamia milk has gained popularity in many Western markets, in Japan its presence has been limited to a few imported products with narrow distribution. Kikkoman’s new product is unique as it is Japan’s first domestically-made mainstream macadamia milk.

Expanding the plant-based offering

The plant-based milk market is expanding globally and is predicted to reach US$21.52 billion in 2024, growing at a CAGR of more than 10% between 2020 and 2024.

Japan has long had strong demand for plant-based milk, thanks to the popularity of soy and almond, and it’s a market that Kikkoman says is continuing to steadily expand.

“We believe the plant-based milk market has potential to grow further,” says a Kikkoman spokesperson. “The growth is being driven by multiple factors including increasing health consciousness, environmental awareness and lifestyle choices,” they said.

“As consumers have come to expect more from plant-based milk, we challenged ourselves to develop more choices for Japanese consumers, and that was the key to developing our new macadamia milk.”

Kikkoman says it is appealing to regular soy, almond and oat milk drinkers who are eager for new options, as well as those who are macadamia fans.

“The macadamia is a very popular nut in Japan and it is often a feature of confectionery, desserts and ice cream products. We believe macadamia lovers will be very interested in our new product, as a new way to enjoy the taste of their favourite nut.”

Australian origin a key selling point

Kikkoman is flagging the Australian origin of its macadamias on front of pack and in its promotional campaigns, as the company believes this adds trust and value to the product.

“The macadamia’s unique flavour and aroma is the hero characteristic of the product, so it’s important to assure consumers that the main ingredient is from a safe and reliable source and is guaranteed to taste great. By stating the Australian origin of our macadamias on pack, we think consumers will have an image of a natural and premium quality product,” Kikkoman’s spokesperson explained.

“As our audience comes to understand our product more, we feel they will appreciate Australia as the macadamia’s country of origin, the beauty of its macadamia orchards and the stories of its growers.”

Created for the Japanese palate

Kikkoman first used macadamias in a beverage in early 2019 when it launched a macadamia flavoured soy milk. It proved highly successful, with Kikkoman’s spokesperson saying the distinctive flavour and aroma of the macadamia was well received by consumers. The popularity of the macadamia-soy milk blend was one of the factors behind the decision to develop a pure macadamia milk.

Kikkoman says its new product concept was created with careful consideration for Japanese consumer tastes. “Rather than just replicate a plant based milk product that is popular overseas, we developed our macadamia milk from scratch with the Japanese market in mind,” said their spokesperson.

“Our formulation has the flavour, thickness and satisfaction that is considered ideal by the Japanese consumer. In this regard, we believe it is an innovative product.”

The product is available nationally in supermarkets, convenience stores and online, with two variants on offer. ‘Original’ has a little extra sweetness to enhance the naturally creamy taste of macadamias, while ‘Unsweetened’ offers the natural sweetness and mild flavour of the nut.

Kikkoman is encouraging consumers to experience the unique flavour of the milk on its own at first, but plans to build the product story over time via additional usage suggestions, including in tea and coffee, over cereal or in recipes.

Powerful online promotion

COVID-19 has prevented the promotion of Kikkoman’s macadamia milk at live events, however the brand has a heavy digital presence unfolding to drive awareness and trial of its latest product.

The launch has also prompted an exciting brand collaboration that is giving Australian Macadamias fans in Japan the chance to win Kikkoman Macadamia Milk, in-shell macadamias and a TJ’s nutcracker, which is also launching in Japan at the same time.

The campaign is being featured on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and the Australian Macadamias website with the activity to be amplified over the coming weeks  by a high profile YouTuber and three Instagram influencers with a combined following of more than 2.9 million.

Kikkoman macaamia milk Instagr
Image: Instagram (@tomoky_tak)

Looking to the future

The launch of Kikkoman Macadamia Milk aligns perfectly with the findings of our industry’s recent consumer research into the future of food, where it was revealed that Generation Z is increasingly gravitating towards plant-based products, whether for their own wellbeing or that of the planet and society at large. It also identified that as a foundational part of the plant-based movement, macadamias are an ideal ingredient for brands looking to engage and excite younger consumers.

So what does the Kikkoman team have planned for its macadamia milk beyond the launch?

“We wanted to start by introducing consumers to the pure taste of our product,” said the company’s spokesperson.

“But we are considering combining other flavours with macadamia milk in the future in a way that we feel will both surprise and delight consumers.”

Sounds like a recipe for success! We look forward to the next development in the Kikkoman Macadamia Milk journey.

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to the macadamia review to get more news like this delivered straight to your inbox.

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.