Z世代的研究显示澳洲坚果与年轻消费者的需求相关

未来的食物会是什么样子?对于食品制造和创新领域的任何人来说,这都是一个重大而关键的问题,然而,这个问题问起来容易回答起来难。虽然我们都没有水晶球,但预测食品走向的最佳方式之一,是探索未来消费者的世界,随着这一消费群体的购买力增长,他们将塑造未来的食品格局。现在,这就是Z世代。

我们最新的消费者洞察研究正是这样进行的,它带我们深入到Z世代的世界,深入了解到他们对食物的需求、态度和消费行为,更好地了解未来的食物可能是什么样子,了解澳洲坚果能在什么时机发挥作用。

Z世代对食物的期望与前几代人有明显的不同。在这里,我们揭示了这项研究中出现的关于食物的故事,以及澳洲坚果是如何融入其中的,亚洲和西方市场在针对Z世代推出的食品中使用澳洲坚果的五个关键创新热点。

如果你想进一步了解故事中任何一个见解,或者想要探讨如何在你推出的下一个产品中发挥澳洲坚果的作用,敬请联系您的澳洲坚果供应商,或中国区市场经理顾小姐

谁是Z世代?他们拥有怎样的世界观?澳洲坚果能适应他们的世界观吗?  

在本研究中,Z世代的定义是1995 - 2005年出生的人,目前年龄在15 - 25岁之间。是千禧一代之后的一代。

Z世代成长于一个变迁、流动和大规模混乱的时代,对创新并不陌生。随着人们对健康和环境意识的提高,Z世代对食物的期望也很高,但他们的要求也“不同”。

虽然他们对世界的看法与老一辈人非常不同,但他们的思维和行为为澳洲坚果提供了可以充分而自然发挥的空间。

大千世界: 社会和经济环境的变化为Z世代创造了不确定的未来,因为他们完成了教育,进入了“大千世界”,没有什么是一成不变的。他们可能会购买优质产品或挥霍在小奢侈品上,以提供一种当下的幸福感。 澳洲坚果有潜力提高产品质量,创造更大的放纵感,并提供他们所寻求的舒适感。

活在当下而展翅高飞的一代: 未来的不确定性造就了希望做任何事都不后悔的一代! Z世代活在当下,面对挑战不会退缩。他们更愿意尝试新的食物体验,尝试配料和口味的新组合,寻找能满足这一点的产品。 澳洲坚果的口味和质地可以满足一系列新的口味和产品,以吸引这个市场的消费需求。.

表达个性的数字原生代:他们不会被归类,他们在网络世界尽情地展示真实自我,或是塑造出他们希望被人们看到的精心策划后的形象。Z世代把食物看作是表达自我的一种方式,展示他们独特的自我。 澳洲坚果是一个多用途和多方面的配料,为产品提供了无限的可能性。.

此时此地: 他们是按需随选的一代——他们想要的任何东西都是随时可得的。方便性不仅重要,它更成为了一种生活方式。他们寻求方便食品的解决方案,不以牺牲营养、质量或口味为代价,包括预先选择高质量的设备和食材。在新冠肺炎期间,西方国家的饮食装备升级,消费者可以在家里享受充满创意、放纵和全套的饭菜烹饪体验,更正宗、更专业的用餐形式和配料可能即将出现。 澳洲坚果具有功能性的营养价值,在忙碌和便利的空间发挥作用。.

Z世代的主要食物叙事

Z世代的食物偏好是从前几代人进化而来的,研究揭示了一些引发他们对食物期望的关键叙述。

达尔戈纳效应(Dalgona:追求社会货币的创造力和技术完善的现象正在兴起

让我的零食更酷炫:模糊了日常的饮食习惯,小而强大的零食占据了中心舞台

文化的重新发现:拥抱传统,庆祝与根源和传统有关的怀旧食物

好感美食:积极寻求对食物及其来源的更大控制和透明度

健康美味:营养和美味之间的权衡不再适用

仔细研究每一个故事,研究表明澳洲坚果在各个方面都有相关性。

达尔戈纳效应表明 对于Z世代来说,在一个24/7共享的世界里,食物是一种社交货币。这些消费者希望他们购买的食物看起来和尝起来一样美好。具有新而独特的口味、质地、颜色和层次的产品创造了Z世代所重视的体验货币。他们想成为同龄人中的潮流引领者,发现一种独特的口味组合,限量版或独家食品品牌的合作关系能够提升他们的社会地位,并在他们的同伴中创造兴奋感。

澳洲坚果之所以与此相关是因为: 它们可以在视觉上(面包渣,质地,配料)和质地上(奶油状,松脆感)为产品添加独特的优势。特别是在亚洲,人们对新口味、新模式以及跨品类融合有着浓厚的兴趣。例如:搭配早餐酸奶、咖啡或下午茶。

让我的零食更酷炫 揭示了Z世代的传统用餐时间和用餐多少的界限正在变得模糊,他们正在寻求混合搭配活力食物的选择。他们不会被食物的典型参数或规则所限制,他们受到启发突破界限,发挥创造力。他们不吃传统的早餐、午餐和晚餐,而是一天中吃很多小餐。更重要的是,任何时间任何事物都可以随意组合。早餐吃沙拉,晚餐吃鸡蛋,晚上10点吃夜宵?这是Z世代的正常行为。当你像这样昼夜不停地进食时,容易获得的食物是关键。

澳洲坚果之所以与此相关是因为: 澳洲坚果是一种全能食材,可以适用于不同的场合,带来身体益处。似乎没有什么是不能组合的在一起的,我们有机会突破它们所搭配的食材的界限,发挥它们的力量来为自己的零食做主。

文化的重新发现 是全球融合的副产品,让Z世代在创造对美食的重新欣赏的同时,可以借鉴彼此的美食。家族传统,邻居,朋友和同事为Z世代对食品、配料以及“什么是一道经典的菜”这一想法提供提供全新的视角,智能手机和电视提供了最佳获取全球美食趋势的途径,他们收看人气节目、Youtube博主和美食博主令在屏幕画面中铺满令人兴奋的新美食,并向Z世代展示如何制作这些美食。

澳洲坚果之所以与此相关是因为它们有潜力直接取代亚洲食品中的传统食材,在承认传统的同时实现全球融合。

好感美食 好感美食表达了Z世代希望做出积极的食物选择,并对自己吃的东西许以良好的愿望。在西方市场,远离肉类和奶制品是出于“更大的好处”,同时形式多样的可持续消费的吸引力持续增加,包括植物基食品、节制性地吃肉、减少浪费、环保包装等。在美国,65%的Z世代说,他们想要更“素食”的饮食,超过30%的人打算到2021年完全不吃肉,44%的人认为做素食主义者比吸烟更酷。在亚洲,做出正确选择的愿望是出于对个人利益、食品安全和质量需求的关注。

澳洲坚果之所以与此相关是因为: 澳洲坚果是一种天然的植物性原料,在针对西方年轻消费者的一系列产品创新中,有充足的机会使用澳洲坚果来增加感觉良好的因素。在亚洲市场,澳洲坚果对Z世代来说是一种有吸引力的和差异化的原料,因为它们具有良好的原产地关系和营养价值。

“健康美味” 正面临着一种对传统观点的否定,即“健康”食物必须是乏味无聊的。Z世代的消费者愿意为纯天然、无转基因、可持续发展或维生素强化的健康产品支付高价。他们喜欢以更有营养的形式复制自己喜爱口味的食材和产品,比如可可、果仁和枣子。注重为身体提供蛋白质、健康脂肪和抗氧化剂,不仅仅是身体上的,西方的Z世代也非常重视保持良好的精神状态。

澳洲坚果之所以与此相关是因为它们有强大的健康凭据可以利用,同时依赖于味道和质地。它们为食物添加了一种不妥协的、营养丰富的添加剂,可以让食物更加美味,同时味道也很棒。

澳洲坚果食品品牌的创新热点,目标是Z世代

食品制造商注意到:澳洲坚果对Z世代来说是一种有吸引力和引起共鸣的原料,它的许多好处使其成为新产品开发中令人兴奋和相关的原料。

从其奶油味、独特的口感和多功能性到其起源于澳大利亚的性质和营养价值,研究表明西方和亚洲市场的年轻消费者都认识到了澳洲坚果的各种令人向往的好处。

通过这项研究,有五个关键的创新机会可以让Z世代参与并激发他们对澳洲坚果的兴趣。

  1. 1实验站:澳洲坚果提供了一系列大胆和卓越的食品创新。想想独特的口味,跨文化的融合,对比鲜明的质地和互补的口味。没有什么组合是不允许的。
  2. 好感因素:澳洲坚果在植物基食品领域中发挥着天然的作用,它有能力增强现有的替代产品,或者为各种各样的食物添加一层有益的成分。澳洲坚果是倡导植物基饮食运动的基本部分。
  3. 复杂货币:以复杂的方式对待澳洲坚果会为消费体验增加一层独特性。这推动了社交货币,并鼓励Z世代与世界分享他们与澳洲坚果的经历。澳洲坚果可以使其变得复杂但有趣。
  4. 超级营养:澳洲坚果得益于高功能性的营养,蛋白质和健康脂肪可以为食物提供能量,激发对健康、增压式产品的渴望。澳洲坚果可以帮助创造出强壮有力的食物。
  5. 提高颜值:澳洲坚果可以在视觉上改变产品,增加层次,为寻找食物的一代人创造兴趣和吸引力,有能力给人留下深刻印象。澳洲坚果可以帮助创造出看起来和味道一样好的产品。

让我们开始对话吧!

我们有一系列来自澳洲坚果创新挑战赛的创新澳洲坚果产品概念,供感兴趣的产品制造商试用,其中许多产品是由Z世代决赛选手创造的。

如果您想了解更多关于这些概念,或者想了解本文中所分享的见解和讨论澳洲坚果在开发吸引年轻一代的新产品中所扮演的角色,请联系澳洲坚果供应商或联系中国区市场经理顾小姐

这篇文章的见解来自于研究机构FiftyFive520207月为澳洲坚果开展的 “Z世代和食品的未来研究。

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to the macadamia review to get more news like this delivered straight to your inbox.

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.

New Gen Z research reveals macadamias’ relevance to the demands of younger consumers

What does the future of food look like? It’s a big but crucial question for anyone in the food manufacturing and innovation space, however it’s easier asked than answered. While none of us has a crystal ball, one of the best ways of predicting where food is headed is by exploring the world of up and coming consumers who will shape the future food landscape as their purchasing power grows. Right now, this is Generation Z.

Our latest consumer insights research has done exactly that, taking us deep into the world of Gen Z and their needs, attitudes and behaviours when it comes to food, to better understand what the future of food may look like, and where macadamias have an opportunity to play a role.

What Gen Z expect from food is markedly different to the expectations of the generations that have preceded them. Here we reveal the narratives around food that emerged from this research, and how macadamias fit within them, as well as five key innovation hotspots for the use of macadamias in food products targeting Gen Z in both Asian and Western markets.

If you would like further details about any of the insights mentioned in this story, or wish to discuss how macadamias could feature in your next product launch, contact an Australian macadamia supplier, or Market Development Manager Jacqui Price.

Who is Gen Z, what’s their worldview and can macadamias fit into that?  

The definition of Gen Z in this research is people born between 1995 and 2005, currently aged 15 to 25. It’s the generation that comes after Millennials.

Gen Z has grown up in a time of flux, fluidity and mass disruption and are no strangers to innovation. With a heightened sense of health and environmental awareness, Gen Z’s expectations around food are high but they also demand ‘different’.

While they view the world very differently to older generations, their thinking and behaviours present spaces in which macadamias can comfortably and naturally play.

The big bad world: Shifting socio and economical contexts are creating uncertain futures for Gen Z as they complete their education and enter the ‘big bad world’, where nothing is set in stone. They’re likely to buy premium products or splurge on little luxuriesto provide a sense of happiness in the moment. Macadamias have the potential to premiumise products, create a greater sense of indulgence and provide the comfort they’re seeking

The live and let go generation: The uncertainty of the future has created a generation that wish to regret nothing! Gen Z live for the now and won’t back down from a challenge. They’re more open to new food experiences, experimenting with ingredient and flavor combinations and looking for products that do the same. Macadamias have the taste and texture to complement a range of new flavour and product profiles to appeal to this market.

Digital natives expressing individuality: They won’t be pigeon-holed, and the online world enables them to show their true colours, or portray a curated image they wish the world to see. Gen Z see food as an expression of who they are, allowing them to showcase their unique self. Macadamias are a versatile and multi-faceted ingredient that offer up endless possibilities for use in products.

Right here, right now: They’re the on-demand generation – whatever they want is on tap. Convenience is not just king, it’s a way of life. They seek convenient food solutions, without a nutrition, quality or taste trade off, including high quality pre-prepared options. The meal kit upgrade witnessed in the West during COVID-19 saw consumers enjoying creative, indulgent and almost-complete meals that they could finish cooking at home, with more authentic and specialist formats and ingredients likely on the horizon. Macadamias have the functional nutritional benefits needed to play in the on-the-go and convenience-focused space.

The key food narratives of Gen Z

Gen Z’s food preferences have evolved from those of previous generations, and the research revealed some key narratives that dominated their expectations around food.

The Dalgona effect: The rise of creativity and technical perfection in pursuit of social currency

Pimp my snack: The blurring of daily food rituals, as small but mighty snacking takes centre stage

Cultural rediscovery: Embracing tradition and the celebration of nostalgic foods that connect to roots and heritage

Feel good food: Actively looking for greater control and transparency on food and its origins

Healthy delicious: The trade-off between nutritious and delicious no longer applies

Taking a closer look at each of these narratives, the research revealed that macadamias were relevant across the board.

The Dalgona effect speaks to the fact that for Gen Z, food is a form of social currency in a 24/7 sharable world. These consumers expect the food that they purchase to look as good as it tastes. Products with new and unique flavours, textures, colours and layers create experiential currencythat Gen Z values. They want to be trendsetters within their peer group, and discovering a unique flavor combination, limited edition or exclusive food brand partnership has the ability to elevate their social status and create excitement amongst their tribe.

Macadamias are relevant here because: they can add that unique edge to products visually (crumbs, textures, garnishes) and  texturally (creaminess, crunch). In Asia particularly there’s intrigue in new flavours and formats and cross-category fusion e.g.; companion packs to go with morning yoghurt, coffee or afternoon tea.

Pimp my snack reveals that the lines of traditional meal times and sizes are blurring for Gen Z, and they’re seeking to mix and match dynamic food choices. They don’t feel confined by the typical parameters or rules of food, and they are inspired to push the boundaries and be creative. They’re rejecting traditional breakfast, lunch and dinner in favour of many mini meals in a day. What’s more, anything goes, any time. Salad for breakfast, eggs for dinner, a 10pm and midnight snack? This is normal behavior for Gen Z. When you eat around the clock like this, easily accessible food is key.

Macadamias are relevant here because: they’re the ultimate versatile ingredient and can talk to different occasions and benefits. There’s an opportunity to push the boundaries of the ingredients they’re combined with to dial up their power to pimp snacks, given that seemingly nothing is off limits.

Cultural rediscovery is the bi-product of global fusion, allowing Gen Z to borrow each other’s cuisines while creating a re-appreciation of their own. Family heritage, neighbours, friends and colleagues readily provide them with new perspectives on food, ingredients and what a ‘classic’ dish is, while Smartphones and TV present unparalleled access to global food trends, with popular programs, YouTubers and food bloggers filling screens with exciting new foods and showing Gen Z how to recreate them.

Macadamias are relevant here because: they hold potential to act as direct replacements for traditional ingredients in Asian food, speaking to global fusion while recognising heritage.

Feel good food speaks to Gen Z’s desire to make positive food choices and feel good about what they eat. In Western markets, a move away from meat and dairy is motivated by the ‘greater good’, and there’s a continued gravitation towards many forms of sustainability including plant-based, mindful meat eating, waste reduction and eco packaging. In the USA, 65% of Gen Z say they want a more ‘plant-forward’ diet, more than 30% intend to be entirely meat free by 2021 and 44% think being vegan is cooler than smoking. In Asia, the desire to make good choices is borne out of a focus on personal benefit and food safety and quality needs.

Macadamias are relevant here because: as a  natural, plant-based ingredient, there’s ample opportunity to use macadamias to increase the feel-good factor across a range of product innovations targeting younger consumers in the West. In Asian markets, Australian grown macadamias can be an appealing and differentiated ingredient for Gen Z due to positive provenance associations and nutritional benefits.

Healthy delicious is seeing a rejection of the traditional view that ‘healthy’ food must be bland and boring. Gen Z consumers are prepared to pay a premium for healthy products that are all natural, GMO-free, sustainable, or vitamin-fortified. They’re drawn to ingredients and products that replicate favourite flavours in more nutritious form, such as cacao, nut butters and dates. Focused on fueling their bodies with protein, healthy fats and anti-oxidants, this is more than just physical, with Western Gen Zs highly aware of maintaining good mental wellbeing too.

Macadamias are relevant here because: they have powerful health credentials to leverage, whilst leaning on both taste and texture. They add a no-compromise, nutritious boost to food, that can supercharge a  ‘goodness’ proposition, whilst tasting great.

The macadamia innovation hotspots for food brands targeting Gen Z

Food manufacturers take note: macadamias are an appealing and resonating ingredient for Gen Z, with a host of benefits that make them an exciting and relevant ingredient for new product development.

From their creamy taste, unique mouthfeel and versatility to their Australian origin and nutritional benefits, the research revealed that younger consumers in both Western and Asian markets recognise a variety of desirable benefits associated with macadamias.

Five key innovation opportunities to engage and excite Gen Z with macadamias emerged from the study.

  1. EXPERIMENTATION STATIONS: Macadamias lend themselves to a range of bold and brilliant food innovations. Think unique flavours, cross-cultural fusion, contrasting textures and complementary tastes. No combination is off limits.
  2. FEEL GOOD FACTOR: Macadamias naturally play in the plant-based space, with the ability to enhance existing alternative products, or adding a layer of goodness to a broad range of foods. Macadamias are a foundational part of the plant based movement
  3. COMPLEXITY CURRENCY: Treating macadamias in a way that is complex adds a layer of uniqueness to the consumption experience. This drives social currency and encourages Gen Z’s to share their macadamia experiences with the world. Macadamias can make it complex but fun.
  4. SUPERCHARGED: Macadamias benefit from high functional nutrition, with protein and healthy fats that can power up food and tap into a desire for wholesome, supercharged products. Macadamias can help create strong and powerful food that packs a punch.
  5. AESTHETIC AMPLIFICATION: Macadamias can transform products visually, adding multi-faceted layers that create intrigue and appeal to a generation seeking food that has the ability to impress. Macadamias can help create products that look as good as they taste.

Let’s start a conversation

We have a range of innovative macadamia product concepts from the Macadamia Innovation Challenge that are available for trial by interested product manufacturers, many of which were developed by Gen Z finalists.

If you’d like more information on these concepts, any of the insights shared in this story or to discuss the role macadamias could play in developing new products that appeal to younger generations, contact an Australian macadamia supplier or reach out to Market Development Manager Jacqui Price.

The insights in this article are from ‘Generation Z and the Future of Food’ research carried out by research agency FiftyFive5 for Australian Macadamias in July 2020.

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to the macadamia review to get more news like this delivered straight to your inbox.

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.