澳洲坚果,为脂肪正名
富含消费者青睐的优质脂肪,提供饱腹感,助力心脏健康

作为一种美味的植物性蛋白质来源,澳洲坚果满足了现代消费者的多种饮食需求。但研究表明,一直以来阻碍人们消费澳洲坚果的重要原因之一,实际上竟可能是其最大的优势。这一亮点,为食品厂商带来了新的机遇,重新思考如何凸显澳洲坚果在健康方面的优势。

A female hiker takes a macadamia from a jar

澳洲坚果产业对全球6,000多名消费者开展的研究表明,消费者希望从食品和食材中获得包括情绪和功能性在内的诸多益处。调研结果显示,超过70%的消费者在寻找含有健康脂肪,支持心脏健康的食品与食材;而60%的消费者在寻求饱腹感强的健康脂肪。

这些洞察表明,当涉及到健康脂肪在日常饮食中的作用时,消费者的心态已经产生巨大的变化。不久之前,消费者还被建议不惜一切代价避免摄入脂肪,但现在人们知道,健康脂肪对身体大有裨益。研究表明,消费者对此已有清楚的认识,并且这已成为他们在购买食品时会主动关注的要点之一。

Close up of a person taking a single macadamia from a tin of macadamia nuts

认证执业营养师、坚果生活(Nuts for Life)项目经理比琳达·内维尔(Belinda Neville)表示,澳洲坚果富含健康脂肪、纤维、植物甾醇、抗氧化剂,还有多种促进消化道,心脏和大脑健康的物质。这些复杂的营养素和生物活性成分,共同保护我们的身体免受疾病侵害。

她说,“在所有的坚果中,澳洲坚果的优质单不饱和脂肪含量最高。这些脂肪有益心脏健康,能降低罹患心脏病的风险。事实上,澳洲坚果所含的脂肪中,超过80%是有益心脏健康的单不饱和型脂肪。”

内维尔女士表示,澳洲坚果不仅对心脏健康有益。“澳洲坚果所含的脂肪、蛋白质和纤维饱腹感很强,脂肪亦有助于身体吸收维生素E这样的脂溶性营养素。脂肪还赋予澳洲坚果独特的口感和风味,使其成为其他风味的良好载体,无论搭配咸味还是甜味都很合适。”

A tray containing fresh tomatoes, a bowl of pesto, a jar of macadamias and diced tomators and macadamia pesto on baguette slices

我们行业的研究结果显示,许多人已经认识到澳洲坚果所含健康脂肪的有益之处。全球62%的消费者认同澳洲坚果可以提供更长时间的饱腹感,59%的人认为澳洲坚果富含的健康脂肪有益心脏,降低罹患心脏病的风险。

澳洲坚果作为食材,已经被广泛应用于冰淇淋,巧克力糖果,烘焙食品和植物奶等多种食品。随着消费者们对身心健康的日益关注,以及人们对澳洲坚果营养价值的认识愈加深化,澳洲坚果具有很大的开发潜力。澳洲坚果产业期待看到食品厂商能不断突破,开发出更多促进健康、提升幸福感的美味澳洲坚果产品,满足消费者日益增长的需求。

研究表明,享用澳洲坚果时,消费者在健康和情绪方面都会得到很大改善。如果您的品牌已准备好仔细研究澳大利亚产的澳洲坚果所含的日常必需营养素,并有想法在新产品开发中利用到这些营养素,请与澳洲坚果供应商联系,我们可以探讨如何帮助到您。


关于澳洲坚果的新研究
2020年下半年,澳洲坚果产业对中国大陆和台湾地区、澳大利亚、韩国、日本和美国的6014位个人消费者进行了一项调查研究。该项研究由独立研究机构凯度(Kantar)的新加坡办公室执行,调研于2020年8月至10月进行,并于2020年12月交付报告。

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to the macadamia review to get more news like this delivered straight to your inbox.

    • 您同意让我们收集您的个人信息,以便与您联系。进一步了解我们的隐私政策。

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.

    • 您同意让我们收集您的个人信息,以便与您联系。进一步了解我们的隐私政策。

Macadamias flip the script on fat as consumers seek out satiety and heart-healthy ingredients

As a delicious source of plant-based protein, macadamias tick a lot of boxes when it comes to how modern consumers want to eat. But research has revealed that what has traditionally been one of macadamias’ biggest barriers to consumption may in fact be one of their greatest strengths, presenting an opportunity for brands to rethink how macadamias stack up when it comes to health.

A female hiker takes a macadamia from a jar

Research carried out by the Australian macadamia industry with more than 6,000 consumers globally has revealed that consumers expect a wide range of benefits from food and ingredients, spanning both emotional and functional needs. Key findings revealed that more than 70% of consumers are seeking food and ingredients that deliver healthy fats to support heart health and 60% are seeking healthy fats for satiety.

These insights show how far the consumer mindset has evolved when it comes to the role of good fats in their diets. It wasn’t that long ago that consumers were advised to avoid fat at all costs, but it’s now known that healthy fats offer up some very compelling health benefits. This research revealed how clearly consumers understand this and it’s become something they actively seek out when making food purchase decisions.

Close up of a person taking a single macadamia from a tin of macadamia nuts

According to Accredited Practicing Dietitian and Nuts for Life Program Manager Belinda Neville, macadamias contain a unique blend of healthy fats, fibre, plant sterols, antioxidants and a range of micro-nutrients that promote gut, heart and brain health. This complex variety of nutrients and bioactive components work together to protect our bodies against disease.

“Macadamias have the highest ‘good’ monounsaturated fat content of all tree nuts. These fats are beneficial for heart health and reducing the risk of heart disease. In fact, more than 80% of the total fat in macadamia nuts is the heart-healthy monounsaturated type,” she says.

According to Ms Neville, the benefits extend beyond heart health. “Their fat, protein and fibre content makes macadamias highly satiating, while the fat helps the body to absorb fat-soluble nutrients like Vitamin E. It’s also what gives them their unique mouthfeel and flavour, and makes them a good carrier of other flavours, both savoury and sweet.”

A tray containing fresh tomatoes, a bowl of pesto, a jar of macadamias and diced tomators and macadamia pesto on baguette slices

Our industry’s research findings revealed that many people already recognise the link between macadamias and their healthy fat benefits. 62% of consumers globally associate macadamias with feeling fuller for longer and 59% see macadamias as helping to promote heart health and reduce heart disease risk thanks to their high healthy fat content.

Uptake of macadamias as an ingredient has been strong across several categories including ice cream, chocolate confectionery, bakery and non-dairy milks. But with consumers embracing their health and wellbeing more than ever, and so many recognising the health benefits of macadamias, there is still untapped potential. As an industry, we are excited to see which brands will push the envelope in terms of what’s possible with macadamias to meet rising consumer demand for health-enhancing, satisfying and great-tasting products.

Research tells us every time a consumer enjoys a macadamia, they’re doing something positive for their body, mind, and mood. If you’re ready to take a closer look at the essential daily nutrients delivered by Australian grown macadamias and how to leverage these benefits in your product development plans, talk to an Australian macadamia supplier about how we can help.


About the Australian Macadamias research
In late 2020, Australian Macadamias commissioned research based on 6014 individual surveys with consumers in Australia, China, South Korea, Japan, Taiwan and the USA. Conducted by the Singapore regional office of independent research agency Kantar, the research was conducted between August and October 2020 and findings delivered in December 2020.

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to the macadamia review to get more news like this delivered straight to your inbox.

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.