含有澳洲坚果的独特零食和涂抹酱——欧洲市场正在尝试更大胆的口味

看到新的口味组合的出现总是令人着迷的——特别是含有澳洲坚果的口味组合——最近欧洲的三个发现立即引起了我们的注意。

在研究这些产品是什么,来自哪里之前(提示:含有水果、草本植物、茶和酒等口味),让我们先简要看看整个欧洲的零食口味发生了什么变化,并剖析在未来几年内COVID-19会如何影响口味的创新。

你们有我们应该了解含有澳洲坚果的新产品想法?

联系澳洲坚果产业的中国区市场总经理

咸味零食市场份额下降,更大胆的零食坚果口味盛行整个欧洲

根据Innova Market Insights1的调查,去年欧洲在坚果零食(34%)和零食(27%)领域的新产品开发(NPD)中排名第二,排在亚洲之后(分别为39%和44%)。

在所有欧洲国家中,德国推出的新零食坚果产品数量最多,并通过包装创新、份量控制、烟熏和烘焙口味、添加水果以及放纵的甜味口感如焦糖、枫糖和牛奶巧克力口味等方式来推动增长。

虽然咸味是去年欧洲零食坚果新产品开发市场上最受欢迎的口味,但随着消费者对更多新奇口味的兴趣不断上升,以及考虑到盐对健康产生的影响,咸味在该市场的份额已经从2017年的20%显著下降至2019年的5%。

辣椒、蜂蜜和红辣椒是去年最受欢迎的口味,培根、烧烤、椰子、酱油、迷迭香、浆果、抹茶、日本味噌和姜黄味也变得越来越受到喜爱。 

2019年欧洲各地市场流行的零食坚果口味各不相同,形成一个有趣的零食口味创新代表:

  • 德国: 迷迭香,波旁威士忌,香草,蔓越莓,墨西哥芝士酱,椰子
  • 法国: 黑胡椒粉,百里香,埃斯佩莱特辣椒,烟熏,酸奶油
  • 西班牙: 松露,辣椒粉,牛肉汉堡,培根
  • 荷兰: 青酱,培根,海草

澳洲坚果与独特的新口味相结合

我们对澳洲坚果和零食领域的研究表明,澳洲坚果为人造食品提供了极好的风味潜力,其多样的口味使其成为理想的风味载体,并以一种安全而奢华的方式将新口味引入市场。

三家欧洲食品制造商最近恰恰证明了这一点,他们推出了将澳洲坚果与一系列独特口味结合在一起的新产品。

德国制造商Kern Energie 是一家受欢迎的个人零食生产商,他们将坚果、小香料籽和水果混合在一起制成零食。在2020年的复活节系列中,他们推出了一系列独特的礼盒,包括两款澳洲坚果产品 - 覆盆子百里香球 和草莓迷迭香烤球。这款漂亮的,带有红色晕染色彩的产品由澳洲坚果果仁制成,表面覆盖有覆盆子或草莓粉末,并带有一点百里香或迷迭香。这两种澳洲坚果球产品都被描述为“黄油般柔软的澳洲坚果和微酸的冷冻干果和草本植物的组合”。它们的口味和口感“像水果一样甜、辣、脆”,据说是金汤力的理想搭配。我们要为此干杯。

Nu股份有限公司 是一家社会食品初创企业,他们每销售一份产品都会种一棵树。该公司主打谷物和巧克力棒,以及天然蛋白奶昔(均采用无塑料包装),近期推出了 nucao 澳洲坚果茶味巧克力棒,以澳洲坚果和香料(包括肉桂、小豆蔻和丁香)为特色。该品牌将其巧克力描述为“第一款你可以没有任何心理负担地享用的巧克力棒”,其含糖量比普通巧克力低65%,吸引了寻求可持续健康产品的消费者。

法国高端巧克力品牌Guillaume Vincent Chocolatier以其创意和独特的产品而闻名,最近推出了一款浓郁奢华的 咖啡和爱尔兰奶油焦糖酱,描述为“融合了柔滑的焦糖和澳洲坚果,散发出一种精致的味道,让人想起椰子和香草波旁威士忌。”它散发出“无与伦比的香味和精致的味道”,同时还含有天然的菊苣提取物,脂肪含量比许多经典的涂抹酱含量更低。

覆盆子百里香球, nucao 澳洲坚果茶味巧克力棒, 咖啡和爱尔兰奶油焦糖酱

新冠疫情阻碍了口味创新吗?

2019年食品创新的特点是亚洲融合食品和健康便利性,并且Innova Market Insights2表示,虽然2020年预计会出现“更狂野、更新奇的口味”,但COVID-19造成的社会活动限制和经济断崖正在改写剧本。

疫情产生的四个影响已被确定会在未来几年内对口味趋势和创新产生影响。

  1. 家庭收入和外出就餐: 酒店业受到疫情的沉重打击,即使餐馆重新开业,收入减少使得许多人承受经济压力,可能会影响人们外出就餐的能力。传统来说,餐饮和高端餐厅行业是开发新菜品和新口味的牵头者,以吸引大众,从而对坚果零食口味的新产品开发产生影响。
  2. 旅行禁令: 长期以来,旅行激发了人们对“异国风情和风格”的探索。由于无法在旅行中寻找新的口味和文化,异国风味的创新可能会很慢。
  3. 供应链中断: 产品开发人员可能需要改变创新计划,以应对疫情给某些原料供应链带来的压力。
  4. 奥运会推迟: 2020年东京奥运原本预计会引发人们对日本口味的兴趣。这将被推迟到2021年。

尽管如此,Innova Market Insights预测新产品和口味配方将继续发展,新口味开发仍然是品牌扩大吸引力或更新系列最有效的方法之一。口味提供了一个不同的切入点,一个抓人眼球的热点,并确保品牌维持其新鲜和创新的形象。

如要了解更多关于澳洲坚果能够给你的下一个零食创新带来什么,请联系澳洲坚果供应商

1. Innova Market Insights,2019年欧洲的休闲零食坚果和种子,分析欧洲休闲零食坚果和种子的新产品开发

2: Innova Market Insights,口味“在那里”:未来是否被推迟?2020

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to the macadamia review to get more news like this delivered straight to your inbox.

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.

Macadamias feature in unique snacks and spread as Europe embraces more adventurous flavours

Watching new flavour combinations emerge is always fascinating – especially when macadamias are involved – and three recent discoveries out of Europe immediately caught our attention.

Before diving into the who, what and where of these products (hint: involves fruit, herb, tea and liquor flavours), we take a quick look at what’s happening in the world of snack flavours across Europe, and finish with some insights into how COVID-19 may impact flavour innovation more broadly in the coming years.

Do you have a new product with macadamias we should know about? Contact our Market Development Manager.

Salt down, more adventurous snack nut flavours up across Europe

According to Innova Market Insights1, Europe ranked second for new product development (NPD) in both the snack nuts (34%) and snacks categories (27%) last year, behind Asia which represented 39% and 44% respectively.

Germany launched the most new snack nut products of all European countries, with growth driven by packaging innovation, portion control, smoked and roasted flavours, fruit additions and indulgent sweet flavours such as caramel, maple and milk chocolate.

While salt was the top flavour seen in European snack nut NPD last year, its share has dropped markedly from 20% of NPD in 2017 to just 5% in 2019, amid rising consumer interest in more novel flavours , and concerns about the health implications of salt consumption.

Chilli, honey and paprika were the next most popular flavours last year, with bacon, barbecue, coconut, soy sauce, rosemary, berry, matcha tea, Japanese miso, and turmeric flavours also becoming more prevalent. 

Trending snack nut flavours varied between markets across Europe in 2019, making for an interesting cross-section of innovative snacking flavours:

  • Germany: rosemary, bourbon, vanilla, cranberry, nacho cheese, coconut
  • France: black pepper, thyme, Espellete chilli, smoked, sour cream
  • Spain: truffle mushrooms, cayenne pepper, beef hamburger, bacon
  • Netherlands: green pesto, bacon, seaweed

Macadamias marry with unique new flavours

Our research into macadamias and the snack category revealed that macadamias offer excellent flavour potential for manufactured food products, as their versatile taste makes them an ideal flavour carrier and a safe and luxurious way of introducing new tastes to market.  Three European food manufacturers have recently demonstrated this, launching new products that combine macadamias with a range of unique flavours.

German manufacturer Kern Energie is a popular producer of individual snack mixes with nuts, seeds and fruits. Its 2020 Easter collection featured two macadamia products – Raspberry-Thyme Bubbles and Strawberry-Rosemary Roasted Bubbles. The beautiful blush coloured products consist of macadamia kernel coated in a raspberry or strawberry dust with a hint of thyme or rosemary, and are described as “a combination of the buttery soft macadamia, and the slightly acidic coating of the freeze-dried fruits and herbs”. Their taste and texture are “fruity sweet, spicy and wonderfully crisp”, which is said to make them an ideal accompaniment to a gin and tonic. We’ll drink to that.

The nu company GmbH is a social food start-up which plants a tree with every product sold. Specialising in cereal and chocolate bars, and natural protein shakes (all in plastic-free packaging), the brand recently launched the nucao Macadamia Chai chocolate bar, featuring a marriage of macadamia nuts and spices including cinnamon, cardamom and cloves. The brand describes its chocolate as ‘the first candy bar that you can enjoy with a clear conscience” and features 65% less sugar than regular chocolate, appealing to consumers seeking sustainable and healthy products that also deliver on indulgence.

Guillaume Vincent Chocolatier, a high-end French chocolate brand renowned for creative and unique products, recently launched a decadent Coffee & Irish Cream Caramel spread, described as a “fusion of smooth caramel and macadamias that delivers a fine flavour reminiscent of coconut and vanilla bourbon.” Delivering an “incomparable fragrance and exquisite taste” it also contains a natural chicory extract that gives it a lower fat content than many classic spreads.

L to R: Kern Energie Raspberry Thyme Bubbles, nucao Macadamia Chai chcolate bar and Guillaume Vincent Chocolatier Coffee & Irish Cream spread

Has COVID cancelled flavour innovation?

Asian fusion foods and health convenience were hallmarks of 2019’s food product innovation and Innova Market Insights2 says that while ‘wilder and stranger novelty flavours’ were predicted to emerge in 2020, the script is being rewritten by the social restrictions and economic disruption of COVID-19.

Four effects of the pandemic have been identified as having an impact on flavour trends and innovation in the next few years.

  1. Household incomes and dining out: the hospitality sector was hit hard by the pandemic, and even as restaurants begin to re-open, the economic strain many are enduring may compromise people’s financial capacity to eat out. The catering and high-end restaurant trades have traditionally been initiators of new cuisines and flavours that gain mass appeal, and in turn, influence flavour in NPD.
  2. Travel bans: travel has long inspired the search for ‘exotic and way out flavours and formats’. Being unable to travel in search of new tastes and cultures may see exotic flavour innovation slow.
  3. Supply chain disruption: product developers may need to alter innovation plans to account for the strain the pandemic has placed on some ingredient supply chains.
  4. Olympic Games postponement: the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games were expected to trigger increased interest in Japanese flavours. This will now be delayed until 2021.

Despite this, Innova Market Insights predicts new product and flavour formulations will continue, with new flavour development remaining one of the most effective ways for a brand to broaden its appeal or refresh a range. Flavour provides a point of difference, a hook for powerful messaging, and ensures a brand is perceived as fresh and innovative.

To learn more about what macadamias can bring to your next snack product innovation, get in touch with an Australian macadamia supplier.

1: Innova Market Insights, Snack Nuts & Seeds in Europe 2019, Analysis of Snack Nuts & Seeds subcategory NPD in Europe

2: Innova Market Insights, “Out There” Flavors: Has the Future Been Postponed? 2020

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to the macadamia review to get more news like this delivered straight to your inbox.

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.