打开印度市场:为何现在正是澳洲坚果的最佳时机

多年来,澳洲坚果产业始终专注于在全球供给量预计增长之前,推动对澳洲坚果的需求。新市场开发正是这一战略的重要组成部分。澳洲坚果产业已成功地在中国和韩国执行了新的市场拓展项目,并充分利用了这两个市场的自由贸易协定(FTAs),向当地消费者介绍澳洲坚果。

作为我们产品的下一个主要市场,印度已经在澳洲坚果产业的雷达上有一段时间了。在此,我们梳理了印度为澳洲坚果带来的新机遇,还有随之而来的复杂情况,以及为什么现在正是进入这个迷人市场的理想时机。

Indian woman sitting by a window in traditional dress with a steaming mug of coffee, looking at her phone

重大机遇正在展现

2022年澳大利亚坚果大会Australian Nut Conference上,商务拓展专家耶米·费尔南德斯(Yemee Fernandes)就拓展印度市场发表了主题演讲。作为Four Pillars Trading(FPT) 公司的联合创始人兼董事,耶米通过瞄准挑剔的印度消费者,帮助澳大利亚品牌步入印度市场。

耶米通过FPT公司,率先为澳洲坚果产业开展了对印度市场坚果消费情况的研究*。她说,在多重因素影响下,当下正是为澳大利亚种植的澳洲坚果制定、执行进入印度市场战略的最佳时机。

“印度是世界上增长最快的大型经济体,特别是在过去几年发生了一些显著的变化,”她说。

“长期以来,印度是一个高度碎片化的市场,难以渗透,但它现在正变得越来越有组织性,这让印度市场比几年之前更容易进入。”

耶米表示,澳洲坚果早已被证明有益健康,而新冠疫情为这样的产品创造了机会。“在印度,疫情提升了人们对食品与身心健康的关注。大家对蛋白质,免疫力和健康食材有浓厚的兴趣,而购买习惯反映出这一点。”

不过,最近印度发生的最重大变化是该国的迅速数字化。对于许多渴望打入印度市场的品牌来说,游戏规则将就此改变。

线上商机从未如此之多

印度移动数据消费和手机持有量的迅猛增长,意味着数量空前的印度消费者正从手机上发现和购买新的产品与品牌。

印度14亿人口中,有6.58亿人(47%)使用互联网,其中91%的人通过手机使用互联网。自2018年以来,互联网用户数量每年增长5-8%,其中自20201年1月以来增加了8100万用户。预计到 2030 年,印度将拥有超过 8.5 亿互联网用户2

Two Indian men leaning on a railing smiling and looking at the mobile phone one of them is holding

耶米马上提醒道,虽然数字化的发展使得直接面向消费者的通讯与电商交易量增加,但仅靠B2C战略是不够的。

“推动消费者的需求固然很重要,但这必须以强大的B2B战略为基础,以确保产品可以在正确的渠道中购得。购买路径应尽可能无缝衔接。”

数字化也推动了网红达人在印度的崛起,这其中既有全球知名的网红(他们本身是名人,吸引非常富裕的受众);也有名气相对较小的达人,虽然粉丝数量较少,但高度互动。随着品牌尝试与能够放大其关键信息的可靠第三方合作,网红营销已然兴起。

新的自由贸易协定,为澳洲坚果锦上添花

对澳洲坚果行业而言,最近宣布的澳大利亚 – 印度自由贸易协定,更为崭新的市场机遇锦上添花。

根据将于2022年底生效的协定,未来七年印度进口澳大利亚产澳洲坚果的关税从目前的32%降至0关税。

随着关税取消,澳大利亚产的澳洲坚果在印度市场价格将更具竞争力。我们要确保开始与印度消费者们分享澳洲坚果的方方面面,助力澳洲坚果产业利用到关税的优势。

剖析澳洲坚果在印度的机遇所在

对于澳大利亚种植的澳洲坚果而言,印度市场的机遇令人兴奋且规模庞大,但还有很多工作要去完成。

印度消费者热爱坚果,将之与健康、营养相联系,并定期以各种方式消费,包括浸泡坚果、烹饪坚果、坚果小零食,喝饮料喝酒时搭配坚果,把坚果当作赠礼,用坚果招待客人,欢度节日(每年有300个节庆)时享用坚果等等。坚果被视为异国情调,是地位的象征,也是家庭富足的标志。原产地对印度消费者很重要,他们购买产品时会对产地有所要求,例如产自加利福尼亚的杏仁。

An Indian woman sits in an office looking at her tablet device while reaching for nuts from a glass dish

澳大利亚以其清洁,绿色和良好的声誉而得到广泛肯定。澳大利亚《厨艺大师》(MasterChef Australia)系列节目在印度市场拥有极高的知名度,消费者们在自家厨房已经非常乐于尝试。

这些因素共同为印度消费者认识澳洲坚果奠定了坚实的基础。不过,虽然印度消费者对坚果和澳大利亚的熟悉程度很高,但要让印度消费者了解澳洲坚果是什么,还有很多工作要做。目前澳洲坚果在印度的认知度约为35%,明显低于成熟市场约80%的认知度。

提升澳洲坚果在印度目标市场中的形象将是关键,此外还要与同业合作,当印度消费者了解、喜爱上澳洲坚果时,帮助商户利用到其中的商机。

印度的消费者喜欢听故事,而澳大利亚种植的澳洲坚果有诸多侧面,故事引人入胜。现在可以前所未有地通过数字化的方式,为超过5亿人来讲述这些故事。市场条件已经成熟,让我们在印度市场占据一席之地。

精准定位目标市场

与所有其他市场一样,澳大利亚种植的澳洲坚果在印度市场也将定位于高端市场。为了成功实现这一目标,我们必须精准定位合适的消费者。正如耶米·费尔南德斯所指出的,印度是个神奇的国家,但它又充满了“混乱,随机和复杂性”。

“印度有14亿人和2.7亿个家庭,可实际上有'三个印度',”她解释说。

“印度A是上层阶级,有约5000万户家庭。这些消费者经常食用坚果零食和浸泡坚果。印度B是1亿个家庭的中产阶级,对于他们来说,坚果是一种享受。印度C是最不富裕的阶层,有1.2亿个家庭,坚果消费有限。”

A senior Indian woman smiles as she embraces her two (2) daughters

澳洲坚果行业将瞄准虽然小众但规模依然庞大的印度A细分市场。在更精细的层面上,该类别中有一些角色已被确定为澳洲坚果最直接的潜在客户。

  • 母亲/照顾者:40多岁,照顾子女、配偶和父母的女性。坚果消费是一个家庭仪式。
  • 健身爱好者:30多岁和40多岁的职业男女,住在生活繁忙的城市。 他们食用坚果是为了延长寿命、预防疾病。
  • 房屋主人:从小家庭中的夫妇到富裕家庭,遍布所有年龄段。为了促进健康,他们会食用各种各样的坚果,并喜欢尝试新的口味和品种。

在碎片化的零售环境中,有效渗透至关重要,需要考虑许多渠道,包括批发,电商,街坊杂货铺,实体坚果专卖店,超市和高级杂货店。

Indian woman and her young daughter beating eggs and flour with whisk

平衡风险与回报

进入新市场总是带来挑战,印度也不例外。驾驭关税和进口税的变化,市场的价格敏感性,监管和合规要求,合同谈判,都是将要面对的障碍。

但如果我们的策略正确,回报依旧可期。考虑到印度很少有食物过敏问题,澳洲坚果在一系列印度的包装食品,面包店,精品糕点店,贴牌产品,护肤及个护产品,甚至儿童食品方面都有巨大的潜力。

我们期待在这个激动人心的市场中分享澳大利亚出产的澳洲坚果的故事。


* 这项工作是农业、水和环境部(DAWE)代表澳大利亚联邦在农业贸易和市场准入合作计划(ATMAC)下资助的坚果出口扩张计划的一部分。

参考资料:
  1. Simon Kemp / Kepios, Digital 2022 – India – The Essential Guide To The Latest Connected Behaviours
  2. Peter N Varghese – An India Economic Strategy to 2035 Navigating from Potential to Delivery – A report to the Australian Government, 2018

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to the macadamia review to get more news like this delivered straight to your inbox.

    • 您同意让我们收集您的个人信息,以便与您联系。进一步了解我们的隐私政策。

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.

    • 您同意让我们收集您的个人信息,以便与您联系。进一步了解我们的隐私政策。

Cracking the Indian market: why now is the time for Australian macadamias

For several years, the Australian macadamia industry has been focused on driving demand for macadamias ahead of a forecast rise in global supply. New market development is an important element of this strategy, and Australia’s industry has successfully executed new market development programs in China and South Korea, introducing consumers to macadamias and leveraging free trade agreements (FTAs) in both markets.

India has been on the Australian macadamia industry’s radar for some time as the next major market for our product. Here we examine the opportunity India represents for macadamias, the complexities that come with it and why now is the ideal time to undertake an entry strategy into this fascinating market.

Indian woman sitting by a window in traditional dress with a steaming mug of coffee, looking at her phone

Major shifts unfolding

At the 2022 Australian Nut Conference, business development specialist Yemee Fernandes gave a keynote presentation on India market expansion. The co-founder and director of Four Pillars Trading (FPT), Yemee helps Australian brands expand their footprint in India by targeting the discerning Indian consumer.

Yemee spearheaded research* carried out by FPT for the Australian macadamia industry examining the consumption of nuts in India. She says there are several factors that make now the time to develop and execute an Indian market entry strategy for Australian grown macadamias.

“India is the fastest growing large economy in the world, and there have been some remarkable shifts particularly in the last couple of years,” she says.

“It has long been a highly fragmented market that is difficult to penetrate but it is becoming more organised, and that’s making it a more accessible market than it was a couple of years ago.”

Yemee says the Covid-19 pandemic has created opportunities for products such as macadamias that have proven health credentials. “Covid has heightened the focus on food, health and wellbeing in India. There is huge interest in protein, immunity and healthy ingredients, and buying habits are reflecting this.”

However the most significant change to occur in India recently is the country’s rapid digitisation, and it’s this that will be the game-changer for many brands who aspire to make a mark on the Indian market.

More connected than ever before

Growth in Indian mobile data consumption and mobile phone ownership has been enormous, and this means more Indian consumers than ever before are discovering and shopping for new products and brands from the palm of their hand.

Of India’s 1.4 billion population, 658 million use the internet (47%) and 91% of those do so via a mobile phone. Since 2018, the number of internet users has grown 5-8% per year, with a rise of 81 million users since January 20201. By 2030, it’s expected that India will have more than 850 million internet users2.

Two Indian men leaning on a railing smiling and looking at the mobile phone one of them is holding

Yemee is quick to caution that while the rise in digitisation has seen an increase in direct to consumer communication and e-commerce transactions, a B2C strategy alone is not enough.

“Of course it’s important to drive demand among consumers, but it must be underpinned by a robust B2B strategy to ensure your product is available in the right channels. The path to purchase should be as seamless as possible.”

Digitisation has also driven the rise of influencers in India, both global influencers – essentially celebrities who attract a very affluent audience – and micro influencers who boast fewer followers but are highly engaged with them. This has seen a rise in influencer marketing as brands try and align themselves with credible third parties who can amplify key messaging.

A new free trade agreement sweetens the macadamia opportunity

For the macadamia industry, the icing on the cake of opportunity is the Australia-India FTA that was announced recently.

Due to enter into force in late 2022, it will see tariffs on imports of Australian macadamias in India reduced from the current rate of 32% down to zero over the next seven years.

With the removal of the tariff will come more competitive macadamia pricing in the Indian market. Ensuring that we begin the task of sharing the many layers of the macadamia story with Indian consumers in anticipation of this will help the Australian industry to capitalise on this advantage.

Unpacking the opportunities for macadamias in India

There’s an exciting and sizeable opportunity for Australian grown macadamias in India, but there is a lot of work to be done.

Indian consumers love nuts. They associate them with health and good nutrition, and regularly use them in a variety of ways including soaking, cooking, snacking, with drinks and alcohol and for gifting, hosting and festivals (there are 300 each year). They’re also seen as exotic, a status symbol and an indication of a family’s affluence. Origin matters to Indian consumers, and they will ask for products by origin when shopping, for example almonds from California.

An Indian woman sits in an office looking at her tablet device while reaching for nuts from a glass dish

Australia is also held in high regard for its clean, green and positive reputation. MasterChef Australia enjoys sky-high popularity in this market, and consumers have become quite experimental in their home kitchens.

Collectively these factors set a solid foundation to introduce India’s consumers to Australian macadamias. However, while familiarity with nuts and Australia is high, there is much to be done in terms of educating Indian consumers on what a macadamia is. Awareness of macadamias in India is currently tracking at around 35%, significantly lower than established markets where awareness sits at about 80%.

Raising the profile of macadamias among the Indian target market will be key, as will engaging with the trade to help the commercial sector capitalise on the opportunities that will arise as Indian consumers get to know and love macadamias.

Indian consumers love a story and Australian grown macadamias have a multi-layered and compelling narrative to tell. For the first time, this can be done digitally to more than half a billion people. The conditions are right to stake our space in the Indian market.

Hitting the right target

As in all other markets, a premium positioning will be developed for Australian grown macadamias in India. To execute this successfully, it’s essential that we identify and target the right consumers. As Yemee Fernandes points out, India is an incredible country, but it’s full of “chaos, randomness and complexity.”

“There are 1.4 billion people and 270 million homes, but really there are ‘three Indias’,” she explains.

“India A is the upper class and contains around 50 million households. These consumers use nuts regularly for snacking and soaking. India B is the middle class with 100 million homes, and for these people nuts are considered a treat. India C is the least affluent class with 120 million homes and limited nut consumption.”

A senior Indian woman smiles as she embraces her two (2) daughters

The macadamia industry will target the niche yet sizeable India A segment. At a more granular level, there are personas within this group that have been identified as holding the most immediate potential for macadamias.

  • The mother/carer: Women in their 40s who care for their children, spouse and parents. Nut consumption is a family ritual.
  • Fitness enthusiast: Professional men and women in their 30s and 40s in urban cities with busy lifestyles.  They consume nuts for their longevity and disease preventing properties.
  • House host: Found across all ages, from couples living in a nuclear family setup to affluent families. They consume a wide variety of nuts for their health benefits and enjoy experimenting with new flavours and varieties.

Effectively penetrating the fragmented retail environment will be critical, with many channels to be considered including wholesale, e-commerce, neighbourhood grocery stores, specialised bricks and mortar nut stores, supermarkets and premium grocery stores.

Indian woman and her young daughter beating eggs and flour with whisk

Balancing the risks and rewards

Entering new markets always presents challenges and India will be no exception. Navigating changes in duties and tariffs, the market’s price sensitivity, regulatory and compliance requirements, and contract negotiations will be among the hurdles.

But the rewards will be there if we get the strategy right. Macadamias hold huge potential for an array of Indian packaged food products, bakeries, boutique patisseries, private label, skin and personal care, and even children’s food products, considering India’s lack of food allergy issues.

We look forward to sharing the Australian Macadamias story in this exciting market.


* The work was a part of the Nut Export Expansion Program funded under Agriculture Trade and Market Access Cooperation program (ATMAC), by the Commonwealth of Australia represented by the Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment (DAWE).

References:
  1. Simon Kemp / Kepios, Digital 2022 – India – The Essential Guide To The Latest Connected Behaviours
  2. Peter N Varghese – An India Economic Strategy to 2035 Navigating from Potential to Delivery – A report to the Australian Government, 2018

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to the macadamia review to get more news like this delivered straight to your inbox.

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.