法国烹饪大师称赞澳洲坚果的广泛用途

在严肃的法国美食世界中,伯特兰•西蒙(Bertrand Simon)脱颖而出。他被人们尊称为西蒙主厨,他的同名网站和他撰写的书籍十分受欢迎。他在法国几家最著名的餐馆工作时精进了厨艺,之后为了与更多人分享他关于美食的见解和知识,他选择了离开餐馆。 

他成立的西蒙主厨网站每年可以吸引大约5千万访问者。为了庆祝网站成立20周年,西蒙主厨慷慨地和大家分享他的美食哲学,以及他如此喜爱澳洲坚果的原因。

Bertrand Simon

澳洲坚果带来的的感官惊喜

西蒙主厨回忆起上世纪80年代初他第一次吃澳洲坚果的经历。那是在一家擅长做美国和加拿大菜肴的餐厅,他品尝到用澳洲坚果和美洲山核桃做成的布朗尼。可以说,他当下就被澳洲坚果吸引了。

他说:“当你吃到澳洲坚果时,嘴里会有一种惊喜的感觉——吃起来不一定酥脆,但是会有更加细腻柔滑的口感”。“这是一种绝佳的食材,我已经为它创造了很多食谱。在我看来,它为菜肴带来了异国情调和现代感。“

对于西蒙主厨来说,澳洲坚果的宝贵在于它的口感、黄油般的质感和丰富的天然油脂。 

他说:“我真的很喜欢用它们来做经典甜点,比如巧克力牛轧糖和布朗尼。当然,可以用来加在蛋糕和面包里。”“ 良好的脂肪含量让你可以用它们做各种有趣的烘培,因为它们能很好地提携其他食材的味道。比如说,和香料搭配起来就非常美味,而且澳洲坚果本身也是一种令人赏心悦目的坚果。“

他还喜欢用澳洲坚果升级传统食谱,比如花生酱。“我更喜欢澳洲坚果黄油,把生的澳洲坚果和烤过之后的澳洲坚果混合在一起能让口感变的更加酥脆,是绝妙的组合。” 

同样地,他在做鹰嘴豆泥的时候,也把芝麻酱换成了澳洲坚果酱,因为他更喜欢澳洲坚果的味道。

西蒙主厨最喜欢用澳洲坚果做什么?“那必须是我的独家秘制越南米粉了。我用澳洲坚果代替花生,让味道更加美味。”

西蒙主厨的越南米粉配澳洲坚果

好奇心激发灵感

对于西蒙主厨来说,食物的灵感来自很多方面,包括书籍和音乐。 

“灵感来自于发现新食材的好奇心,以及对不同烹饪方式的开放态度,”他说。 

他最大的灵感来源之一是他的学生。西蒙主厨在法国一所高中免费教授烹饪课程已经超过30年了, 他很喜欢在那里见到各国的年轻人。除了用严格的法国传统方法来教育学生,西蒙主厨还鼓励他们在烹饪时接受新事物,勇于尝试,勇于质疑。

我从学生身上学到了很多。他们会给我介绍我以前没有用过的食材,帮助我走出舒适圈。” 

“学生给我带来灵感是我喜欢受到外国影响的法国菜的原因之一,比如融入亚洲或中东风味。我还喜欢用Kamado日式陶瓷烧烤炉烹饪,Kamado是一种来自日本的陶瓷烤架,可以让厨师把食材放置在木炭上慢慢地烹饪。”

消费者想要的简单快乐

西蒙主厨认为,我们看到消费者正回归到简单的生活,部分原因是由于COVID-19大流行导致的长期禁闭。

他表示:“消费者正在寻找新的参照点,即更简单、不那么讲究的菜肴。”

“人们也越来越关注产品质量及其对健康的影响。因为追求生活的乐趣而变得渴望生活的艺术性,并对优质食材有了更高的追求。”他说。

不断突破界限

自从多年前摆脱了法国烹饪学院派的“束身衣”后,西蒙主厨的影响力和知名度与日俱增。 

作为一个弹性素食主义者,西蒙主厨对他选择的食材来源和其对环境的影响有着浓厚的兴趣,他致力于提供一种完全独特的教育风格和内容,将烹饪作为一个统一的课题。

”烹饪是文化兴趣的载体。它就像一张全球文化的吸墨纸,让我们对其他文化和技术持开放态度。”

虽然无法确定未来的消费趋势会去往何处,但西蒙主厨的招牌式旧世界烹饪风格与新兴烹饪理念的融合,无疑将继续挑战饮食文化的现状——希望澳洲坚果能在其中发挥重要作用。

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to the macadamia review to get more news like this delivered straight to your inbox.

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.

French culinary influencer celebrates the versatility of macadamias

In the serious world of French cuisine, Bertrand Simon stands out from the crowd. Known as Chef Simon thanks to the popularity of his website of the same name, and the books he has authored, he learned his craft while working in some of France’s most renowned restaurants, before breaking away from the scene in order to share his knowledge with others. 

As he prepares to celebrate 20 years of the Chef Simon website – which now attracts around 50 million visitors each year – Chef Simon generously took time out to share his philosophy on food, and why he’s such a fan of macadamias.

Chef Simon

The sensorial surprise of macadamias

Chef Simon recalls his first experience with macadamias back in the early 1980s. It occurred in the form of a brownie with macadamias and pecans in a restaurant that specialised in American and Canadian cuisine. Suffice to say, the macadamia instantly captured his attention.

“When you eat a macadamia nut, it’s like a surprise in the mouth – not necessarily crunchy, but more melting,” he says. “It’s a fabulous ingredient for which I’ve created many recipes. It brings exoticism and modernity.”

For Chef Simon, the macadamia’s mouthfeel, buttery texture and abundance of natural oils are its greatest assets. 

“I really like using them in classic desserts like nougatine and brownies, but also in cakes and breads,” he says. “Their good fat content allows you to do interesting things with them because they carry other flavours really well. They go really well with spices, and it’s an aesthetically pleasing nut too.”.

He also loves using macadamias to upgrade traditional recipes, like peanut butter. “I prefer macadamia butter. I use a mixture of raw and roasted macadamias to give it a little crunch. It’s a great combination,” he reveals. 

Likewise, he swaps out sesame paste for macadamia paste when making hummus, preferring the flavour the macadamias deliver.

So what is Chef Simon’s favourite use for macadamias? “I would have to say my Vietnamese bo bun recipe. I make it using macadamias instead of peanuts – it tastes amazing.”

Chef Simon’s Vietnamese bo bun with macadamias

Inspiration fuelled by curiosity

For Chef Simon, inspiration for food comes from many sources, including books and music. 

“Inspiration comes naturally through the curiosity to find new ingredients, and being open to cooking differently,” he says. 

One of his greatest sources of inspiration are his students. For more than 30 years, Chef Simon has taught free cooking classes at a French high school, where he delights in meeting young people of all nationalities. As well as educating his students in the strict French tradition, Chef Simon encourages them to embrace the new, to experiment and question as they cook.

“I learn a lot from my students. They’ll introduce me to ingredients I haven’t worked with before and push me out of my comfort zone,” he reveals. 

“It’s one of the reasons I love French cuisine with a foreign influence, such as Asian or Middle Eastern flavours. I’m also a fan of cooking on the kamado – a ceramic grill from Japan that allows you to cook slowly over charcoal.”

Consumers want simple pleasure

Chef Simon believes that right now we’re seeing consumers returning to simplicity, fuelled in part by extended periods in lockdown in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

“Consumers are looking for new points of reference, simpler, less pedantic cuisine,” he says.

“There is also a growing awareness of the quality of products and the impact this can have on health. A desire for the art of living, a choice of good ingredients, transformed simply for the pleasure of it,” he says.

Continuing to push boundaries

Since freeing himself from the ‘straightjacket’ of academic French cuisine all those years ago, Chef Simon’s influence and popularity have gone from strength to strength. 

A flexitarian with a deep interest in the origins and environmental impact of the ingredients he chooses, Chef Simon is committed to providing a totally unique style of content and education that celebrates cuisine as a unifying subject.

“Cuisine is a vector of cultural interest. It’s like a blotting paper of global culture which allows us to be open to other cultures and techniques,” he says.

While it’s impossible to say for sure where consumer trends will take us in the future, Chef Simon’s signature style of old world cuisine fused with emerging culinary ideas will undoubtedly continue to challenge the status quo of food culture – hopefully with plenty of macadamias in the mix.

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to the macadamia review to get more news like this delivered straight to your inbox.

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.