澳洲坚果如何满足注重环保的消费者的可持续性要求

澳洲坚果种植者正在进行科学研究,来了解澳洲坚果树固有的可持续性特征,并指导采用可持续的农场生产方式,以满足当今注重环保的消费者需求。

去年,出于环境可持续性方面的考虑,有三分之一 的消费者放弃了自己最喜爱的品牌。澳洲坚果行业抓住了这一机遇。对行业透明度的要求空前高涨,同时,产品生产的可持续性对于许多人来说是不可妥协的。现在和未来,选择不造成生产压力的原料,减少对环境的影响,将会越来越受到生产者和消费者的欢迎。

尽管生产商已熟知澳洲坚果为产品增添的风味、口感、奢华感和健康益处,此刻向大众分享澳洲坚果提供的可持续性影响依然令人振奋,行业从业者运用了一系列方法实现可持续发展:充分利用水资源、碳回收、使碳排放量达到最小化、回收利用副产品, 并运用世界上最优秀的生物管理方法。

研究发现澳洲坚果树内含的可持续性

澳洲坚果树是植物界的可持续强者,得益于其自身最大化利用水分的能力,并可以固定大气中的二氧化碳。

近期,昆士兰澳洲坚果果园的树干液流动数据科学研究显示,澳洲坚果树比原先预测的更能有效地利用水分。这得益于澳洲坚果树巧妙的内部水分管理系统,能够让树木在低湿度时关闭树木的气孔,使树木更能抵御恶劣环境,尤其是干旱。(1)

因此,虽然外部环境的变化会严重影响其他农作物,导致产量不一,影响供应链,但澳洲坚果树却具有令人难以置信的自然能力,能够应对多变的环境。 这种内含的恢复能力使其即使在不确定的时期也能确保产量。

这些发现为种植者采取更智能、更有效的灌溉计划和用水管理指出一条路,在保持可靠供应的同时,最大程度地减少了过度干预的需要。

在另外的研究中还发现(2),每公顷澳洲坚果园每年平均能从大气中除去超过17吨的总碳和14.5吨的净碳。澳洲坚果树高大、枝叶繁茂、寿命长,这意味着每棵树都可以吸收大量的碳,比很多其他农作物超出许多。

澳大利亚种植者将碳和废物覆盖区降至最低

澳大利亚的800多名澳洲坚果种植者决心在果园中尽可能地“轻手轻脚”。

除了吸收碳以外,澳洲坚果产业还通过减少对重型柴油机和运输工具的使用来限制碳排放量。 果园中的人工干预很少,加工设备位于主要的生长区域内,确保果仁离开果树后,无需长途运输就可以去壳、干燥和包装。

种植者确保澳洲坚果树和坚果的每个部分都可以重复利用或回收,没有任何副产品被直接扔到垃圾场填埋。 澳洲坚果壳用于发电或用作饲料,所有有机物(例如树枝或树叶)都堆放于树下,让种植澳洲坚果树的土地重新吸收。

与自然共存,而不是对抗

澳洲坚果产业认为,可持续的种植方式与产能之间无法取舍。 实际上,情况恰恰相反。种植者认为可持续发展与产能紧密结合,这推动了农场的创新思维,增加了生物多样性并且推动了生物防制的发展。

行业尽可能顺应自然,通过广泛地采用抑制害虫的园林设计来证明这一点。这种做法的重点是增加生物多样性,以平衡自然环境,通过有益昆虫来抑制害虫的繁衍生息。在澳洲坚果树的周围种植其他各种树种,在果树行与行之间播种不同的植物,包括草、豆类和芸苔,同时,通过花草覆盖来鼓励自然授粉媒介。(3)

澳洲坚果产业通过生物防治手段来防治病虫害已有悠久的历史,最著名的举措是引入了赤眼蜂作为一种天然且高效的抗坚果螟虫的工具。

澳大利亚现正处于生物防治另一个重大发展的前沿,有关通过昆虫病原真菌来天然害虫防治的试验即将完成。(4)

研究人员已经分离出最有效的真菌,并正在果园中进行试验,以确定使用它们的最佳季节。澳洲坚果种植者非常乐意以生态友好的方式种植坚果,这将是他们可以利用的另一种有效的生物防治工具。


(1) 2019年夏季AMS简报第47卷第4期,《树木水分管理专题》,作者:树木生理学家Dan Manson博士和园艺家Theunis Smit

(2) Murphy Tim, Graham Jones, Jerry Vanclay, Kevin Glencross;(2013) 农林复合体系 87:689-69。澳洲坚果产业的初步碳回收模型。

(3) Abigail Makim博士和Christopher Carr博士,“皮卡迪利公园”——澳大利亚国际行间项目成果,2020年4月, April 2020

(4) Kim Khuy,南昆士兰大学与新南威尔士州第一产业部和昆士兰州渔农部合作。

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to the macadamia review to get more news like this delivered straight to your inbox.

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.

How Australian grown macadamias are meeting the sustainability demands of the conscious consumer

Australian macadamia growers are using scientific research to understand the inherently sustainable characteristics of the macadamia tree and guide the adoption of sustainable on-farm practices in order to meet the demands of today’s conscious consumer.

One third of consumers forwent their favourite brands last year due to sustainability considerations, and the Australian macadamia industry is embracing the opportunity this presents. Demand for transparency is at an all-time high and sustainable production is a non-negotiable for many. Now and in the future, selecting ingredients that have resilience to production pressures, and therefore reduced environmental impacts, will be increasingly desirable to both producers and consumers.

While manufacturers already understand the taste, texture, luxury and health that macadamias can bring to a product, it’s exciting to share the sustainability credentials macadamias can now deliver too, from water use efficiency and carbon sequestration to minimisation of carbon outputs, recycling of by-products and world’s best biological control.

Research unveils the inherent sustainability of the macadamia tree

The macadamia tree is a sustainability giant of the plant world, thanks to its inherent ability to optimise its water use, and sequester carbon from the atmosphere.

Recent scientific analysis of sap flow data from macadamia orchards in Queensland has revealed that macadamia trees rationalise available water more efficiently than previously estimated. This is due to the tree’s clever internal water management system that shuts down the tree’s stomatal pores during times of low moisture, making the tree resilient to its environment, particularly drought.[1]

So, while changes to our external environment can significantly stress other crops causing inconsistent yields and impacts to the supply chain, the macadamia tree has an incredible natural ability to weather volatile conditions. This in-built resilience makes it a certain crop, even in uncertain times.

These findings pave the way for growers to adopt smarter, more efficient irrigation schedules and water management, minimising the need for excessive intervention, while maintaining a reliable supply.

In separate research findings, [2] it has also been discovered that the average Australian macadamia orchard removes more than 17 tonnes gross and 14.5 tonnes nett of carbon per hectare per year from the atmosphere. The macadamia tree’s size, volume of foliage, and long lifespan mean that every tree can hold a substantial amount of carbon, more so than many other crops.

Australian growers minimise their carbon and waste footprint

Australia’s 800-odd macadamia growers are determined to tread as lightly in the orchard as possible.

As well as absorbing carbon, Australia’s macadamia industry limits its carbon output by minimising the use of heavy diesel-consuming machinery and transportation. Human intervention in the orchard is light, and processing facilities are located within major growing regions, ensuring the nuts don’t have to travel far from the tree to be shelled, dried and packed.

Growers ensure every part of the macadamia tree and nut is either reused or recycled, with nothing going to landfill. Macadamia shells are used to generate electricity or made into stock feed, and any organic matter such as branches or foliage are returned to the earth beneath the tree to be reabsorbed by the soil from which they originally grew.

Working with nature, not against it

Australia’s macadamia industry sees no trade-off between sustainable growing practices and productivity. In fact, it’s quite the opposite. Growers see sustainability working hand in hand with productivity, and this is  driving innovative thinking on-farm, increased biodiversity, and development of effective biological controls.

The industry works with nature as much as possible, as demonstrated by the extensive implementation of pest suppressive landscapes. It’s a practice that centres on increasing biodiversity to bring balance to the natural environment and allow beneficial insects that suppress harmful pests to thrive. This is achieved by planting diverse species around the macadamia trees and actively sowing inter-rows between tree rows with a host of different vegetation including grasses, legumes and brassicas, as well as floral coverage to encourage natural pollinators. [3]

The Australian macadamia industry has a long history of combating pests and disease through the use of biological controls, with the best-known initiative being the introduction of the Trichogramma wasp as a natural and highly effective tool in the fight against nut borer.

Australia is now at the forefront of another big development in biological control, with trials of  entomopathogenic fungi as a natural pest control due for completion soon. [4]

Researchers have isolated the most effective fungi and are conducting trials in orchard to determine the best time of the season to use them. With Australia’s macadamia growers so passionate about farming in an eco-sensitive way, this will be another effective bio control tool they can leverage.

For further information about the sustainable practices of the Australian macadamia industry contact General Manager Marketing Lynne Ziehlke or Industry Development Manager Leoni Kojetin.


[1] Summer 2019 AMS Bulletin Volume 47 Number 4, Tree Water Management Special Feature, Dr Dan Manson, Tree Physiologist and Theunis Smit, Horticulturist

[2] Murphy Tim, Graham Jones, Jerry Vanclay, Kevin Glencross; (2013) Agroforest Syst 87:689-698.  Preliminary carbon sequestration modelling for the Australian macadamia industry.

[3] Dr Abigail Makim and Dr Christopher Carr, “Piccadilly Park” – Macadamia Inter Row Project Results, April 2020

[4] Kim Khuy, University of Southern Queensland in collaboration with NSW Dept. of Primary Industries and QLD Dept. of Agriculture & Fisheries.

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to the macadamia review to get more news like this delivered straight to your inbox.

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.