澳洲坚果创新者视频系列 | <三> 再生农业行动中

创新思维,是澳洲坚果产业的标志之一,而没有什么地方,比果园更能体现这一特点了。在《澳洲坚果创新者》系列视频最新一期中,雷克斯·哈里斯(Rex Harris)的澳洲坚果农场“皮卡迪利公园”是再生农业的一个绝佳范例。

观看视频

雷克斯与他的家人、农场经理和农艺师一直在努力建立一个更有利于种植澳洲坚果的自然环境。他们通过移除一些澳洲坚果树,在空出的位置种上开花类植物,以此创造出一种可于农场地上地下多种物种同时培育的充满生命力的“混养”体系,而这种做法的回报远远超出了全家的想象。

Rex and Dan Harris

保护土壤

1990年,哈里斯一家首次将这片土地改建为果园,之前这里是用来种植玉米和土豆的。他们在一排排果树之间,铺上厚厚的草皮来覆盖地面,保护土壤,以防大雨造成土壤流失。然而,随着果树的成长,一个问题出现了。

雷克斯解释道:“当树冠越长越大,果园的地面就照不到阳光。没有阳光,地面上的草皮无法生存,土壤也得不到保护。于是,我们决定降低果树的密度,改为隔行种植。这样,就有了充足的阳光给予覆盖地面的草皮。而空出的那些位置,则引入季节性作物来替代。”

Inter rows planted with flowering plants in the macadamia orchard

目前,向日葵在夏季替代作物组合中最受钟爱。它们长得相当高,让雷克斯的果园看起来与该地区的其他果园都截然不同。现在每一行替代作物,都是一排生机盎然的花坛。“我们已经将果园从单一栽培转变为多元混种。如今的果园活力十足,有益虫和蝴蝶,还可以看到更多的鸟儿。”

再生农业的理论与实践

雷克斯解释:“再生农业实践之一,是让土壤中始终有活的根。”这也是为什么向日葵没有被用来制作切花的原因。实际上,它们被用来帮助加固土壤。

他说,“向日葵被推倒之后,就成为厚厚的土壤覆盖层”。而下一季的覆盖作物会直接种植在上一次的覆盖层中。这样的做法有助于增加土壤中的有机物,从而为澳洲坚果树改善土壤蓄水能力,并营造一个生物更多样化的环境。

这里的果树使用堆肥而非化学肥料来栽培。10年间,每棵树都用到大约一吨的堆肥!这样有助于打造健康的土壤,并让土壤也成为农场里充满生命力的一个部分。

Rex and Dan Harris inspecting compost

“有了‘活的土壤’,大自然奇妙的事情就会发生。每次更迭覆盖作物时,我们都会放倒旧的覆盖作物。这样,成吨的生物质会被微生物所分解。然后又有一个新的作物种植在这上面。一层又一层植被覆盖在土地上,最后它们又都回到了大地,重新塑造土壤。”

热爱昆虫

雷克斯还不断尝试新点子,尝试改善农场的生物多样性。当然,许多澳洲坚果农户都利用益虫来控制果园中的害虫物种,但雷克斯将这一实践提升到全新的高度。

A bee on a flowering plant

他回忆道:“当我们第一次更换多品种覆盖作物时,吸取了很大的教训。当时一次性替换了果园中所有的覆盖作物,在这个过程中,我注意到成群的昆虫,继而意识到我们刚刚夺走了昆虫的整个栖息地。”

此后,他在果园内种植了常年开花的草甸植物,作为永久性的“昆虫饲养所”。现在,当覆盖作物被取代时,这些植被可以最大限度地保护益虫的栖息地,为整个农场带来持续的好处。 

A permanent insectary on the macadamia farm

除了澳洲坚果果园,过去20年中雷克斯还种植了60,000株雨林植物。这些植物现在已成为鸟类的栖息地。皮卡迪利公园,是一个真正的生物多样性天堂。

观看视频,了解雷克斯农场的再生农业实践

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to the macadamia review to get more news like this delivered straight to your inbox.

    • 您同意让我们收集您的个人信息,以便与您联系。进一步了解我们的隐私政策。

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.

    • 您同意让我们收集您的个人信息,以便与您联系。进一步了解我们的隐私政策。

Third Macadamia Change Makers video shows regenerative agriculture in action

Innovative thinking is one of the hallmarks of Australia’s macadamia industry, and nowhere more than in the orchard. The latest video in our Macadamia Change Makers series showcases the work of Rex Harris whose macadamia farm, Piccadilly Park, is a great example of regenerative agriculture in action.

Watch the video:

Rex, along with his family, farm manager and agronomist, have been working hard to establish a more nature-friendly environment in which to grow macadamias. They’ve created a vibrant polyculture on the farm, above and below ground, by removing alternate rows of macadamia trees and planting flowering plants in their place – and it’s paying off in more ways than the family could have imagined.

Rex and Dan Harris

Protecting the soil

The Harris family first planted their orchard in 1990 on land that had previously been used to grow corn and potatoes. Smother grass had been established between the rows of trees as a ground cover to protect the soil from erosion during heavy rain. However, as the orchard grew and matured, they started to notice a problem.

“As the trees started to canopy over, we lost sunlight on the orchard floor,” explains Rex. “We started to lose our smother grass so there was no protection for the soil. We decided to start thinning the orchard, removing every second row. That gave us ample sunlight to re-establish ground cover and introduce seasonal cover crops to the inter-row of the orchard.”

Inter rows planted with flowering plants in the macadamia orchard

Sunflowers are now a favourite inclusion of the summer cover crop mix. Because they grow quite tall, Rex’s orchard looks unlike any other in the area. Every second row is now a flower bed, abundant in life. “We’ve converted our orchard from a monoculture to a polyculture. So now, the orchard is alive with beneficial insects and butterflies, and we’re seeing a lot more bird life in the orchard too.”

Using regenerative principles and practices

“One of the practices of regenerative agriculture is to have a live root in the ground at all times,” explains Rex. This is why the sunflowers themselves aren’t harvested as cut flowers. Instead, they are used to help build the soil.

“We roll the sunflowers down, and they become a really thick mulch bed,” he says. Then the next season’s cover crop is planted directly into the previous one. This practice helps build the soil’s organic matter which increases water holding capacity for his macadamia trees, as well as creating a more biodiverse environment.

Rather than using chemical fertilisers, the trees are fed with compost, and over 10 years, each tree will have had around a tonne of compost fed to it! This helps to build soil health and makes it another living part of the farm.

Rex and Dan Harris inspecting compost

“With a ‘living soil’, amazing natural things are happening. Every time we replace the cover crop, we’re laying down the old one, and there’s tons of biomass being broken down by microbes. Then we’ve got a new crop growing, and so there’s layer upon layer upon layer of vegetation. It’s all going back into the soil. It’s rebuilding the soil.”

Loving the insects

Rex constantly tests ideas to improve the biodiversity on the farm, and while many macadamia farmers use beneficial insects to control pest species in their orchards, Rex takes this to a whole new level.

A bee on a flowering plant

“The first time we replaced the multi-species cover crops, we learned a big lesson,” he recalls. “We replaced the whole lot in one hit. Part way through the process, I noticed swarms of insects, and I realised then we had just taken away their whole habitat.”

He’s since created permanent insectaries (meadows of constantly flowering plants) on the property. Now when cover crops are replaced, the plantings are staged to maximise habitat for beneficial insects, delivering flow-on benefits for his whole farm. 

A permanent insectary on the macadamia farm

Aside from the macadamia orchard, Rex has also planted 60,000 rainforest plants over the past 20 years that are now a well-established habitat for birds. Piccadilly Park is truly a haven of biodiversity.

See Rex’s farm in action:

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to the macadamia review to get more news like this delivered straight to your inbox.

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.