现场活动—面向健康消费者的未来食品,探讨新的研究成果

澳洲坚果行业对消费者持续研究的承诺可以追溯到多年前,所获得的见解有助于塑造我们的国际营销策略。对于最新的研究项目,无论是在研究方法上还是在研究结果的发布方式上,我们都采取了与以往研究不同的方法。

从左到右: Jacqui Price, Pam Brook 和 Alice Zaslavsky

上个月,我们举办了第一次领英直播(LinkedIn Live)线上活动,名为“面向健康消费者的未来食品”。为了深入了解我们最近的一些研究成果,该活动采用了现场访谈的形式,由澳洲坚果市场经理Jacqui Price主持,受邀嘉宾成员分别为Alice Zaslavsky和Pam Brook。

Alice是一位屡获殊荣的作家、广播员和美味制造者,而Pam是澳洲坚果种植专家,也是优质谷物和零食品牌Brookfarm的联合创始人。他们将食品工业和制造经验带入对话当中,并对于当今有意识的消费者在食品方面的驱动因素提供了深刻理解。

从意见领袖的研究中探索趋势

我们最近的研究探讨了澳洲坚果产品开发的主要食品趋势和创新机会。这一次,我们没有像过去那样与消费者交谈,而是对澳大利亚、台湾、中国、韩国、日本和印度的主要意见领袖们进行了一系列深入采访,受邀嘉宾成员Alice Zaslavsky也参与了调查。

本次现场活动使我们能够揭示这项研究的两个关键趋势-多维健康和面向未来的食品,开启了丰富且有洞察力的对话。

多维健康

几年来,健康一直是消费者最关心的问题,但健康问题的解决方式也在不断变化。根据这项研究,随着健康的含义在各个市场持续体现,以及消费者的知识不断扩大,倾向健康的趋势预计将达到新的高度。

Alice认为有几个因素促成了这一趋势。“这次全球疫情让消费者认识到,他们可以通过饮食来控制自己的健康。并且在社交媒体上,越来越多的营养学家和营养师在宣传食物对健康的益处。”

作为澳大利亚和国际市场的产品开发人员,Pam表示,要想推出具有健康主张的新产品,品牌们必须首先满足消费者的口味习惯和文化规范。

“当你着眼于不同的市场时,你需要看看人们喜欢吃什么。谷物麦片(granola)在澳大利亚被视为非常健康,而在一个人们不吃早餐的国家却是行不通的,”她说,“重要的是要找到符合(市场人群)饮食习惯的健康增值方式。”

追求平衡的趋势

该研究强调,“追求平衡”是如今健康的一种表现方式。消费者更全面地看待健康,不那么注重完美主义,并认识到放纵也是健康饮食的一部分。

Alice觉得这个信息比以往任何时候都更能引起共鸣。“我经常使用的表达方式是消除负罪感和帮助人们对自己的饮食方式感到积极。就澳洲坚果而言,它们不仅仅是味道和营养。它们也是增加泽总这种积极感的有力方式。他们能使人们觉得自己获得了放纵。”

“我认为我们终于克服了对脂肪的神经质。”Pam说,“人们先是吃低脂食品,然后又用糖代替,但这对健康造成了可怕的后果。现在人们意识到我们需要实现平衡。”

对功能性食品益处的兴趣越来越大

在健康趋势中,越来越多的消费者对了解食品的功能益处感兴趣,有时是在相当细微的层面上,Alice认为消费者在思考他们的健康方面正变得更加个性化和教育化。

“许多人都在追随某种 ‘健康战士’,而功能是经常出现的。现在人们不再关注食物金字塔,而是更关注'我可以做什么来强化我的饮食,以便我感觉更好。’”她说。

Pam认为,只要能实现口味和功能的承诺,消费者就会为含有提供他们所寻找的功能益处的成分的优质产品支付更多费用。此外,她说人们正在寻求真正的食物。“如果你有一个优质产品,而且是真正的食物,消费者觉得他们知道食物原料来自哪里。那么他们信任它,他们愿意为它付钱。”

面向未来的食品

面向未来的食品是一种趋势,由于日益增长的宏观经济压力,以及这对食品供应的影响而出现。它迫使消费者重新思考他们如何获取和使用他们可以得到的东西,它也为制造商提出了重要问题。

“我认为这对制造商和生产商是一个真正的挑战。”Pam补充说:“在生产产品时,最重要的是我们的原料来源,确保它们来自可信的来源,并支持农业创新。同时也要向消费者传达这一点。消费者需要对他们购买的东西感到满意。食品的情感纽带真的很重要。”

对 "可获得的灵感 "的需求

这一趋势也引发了对“可获得的灵感”的需求。消费者目前对价格非常敏感,希望以更实惠的方式创造他们喜爱的食物。对制造商来说也是如此,在整个供应链中都能感受到价格压力。

Alice说,在这一趋势下,消费者正在尝试在家里制作他们通常会购买的加工品。她举了一个坚果牛奶的例子。“他们正在考虑如何以一种具有成本效益的方式来做这件事。例如,购买破碎的坚果来重新制作这种产品。”

这是一个对制造商也有意义的例子,因为有多种成分级的夏威夷果实可供商业使用。当考虑将夏威夷果作为产品配方中的一种成分时,较小的果仁样式可能是最经济的选择,在许多情况下,也可能比价格昂贵的全果仁更适合配方。

Pam就使用不同的澳洲坚果风格创造产品的情况提出了宝贵的见解。“50%的味道来自于质地,而所有这些不同的风格在这方面发挥着作用。”她解释说,“我们创造了一种麦片粥(porridge),使用切碎的夏威夷果和夏威夷粉。但对于零食坚果来说,我们可能想要一种高级的风格,因为人们想要整个坚果的外观和感觉。澳洲坚果的一个好处是有各种不同的样式。”

Pam说,有多种风格可供选择的另一个好处是,你不一定需要很多东西来产生巨大的影响。“澳洲坚果带来了它的口感和味道,所以如果你在产品中加入5-6%的澳洲坚果,它仍然会增加所有额外的平衡和味道,并给你带来那种质地和松脆。”

Jacqui Price解释了可供制造商使用的不同风格的澳洲坚果

越来越多地强调适用性强的原料

研究告诉我们,由于疫情制了对一些食品的获取,现在正在强调可以用多种方式创造许多不同菜肴或产品的配料。

作为一种高度适用性的配料,这一趋势与夏威夷果实特别相关。它们一年四季都有各种形式的产品(果核、果酱和油),适合甜味和咸味的风味。如果储存得当,它们的保质期很长。

由于澳洲坚果是在其自然环境中生长的,因此这些树木自然而然地适应了作为我们气候特点的非常恶劣的条件。在过去几年中,主要种植区经历了严重的干旱和洪水,但澳洲坚果树仍然生产了健康和丰富的作物。

Pam认为,夏威夷果的优质口感和质地是其适用性强的原因之一。她说,“人们正在寻找快速解决方法。有各种花哨的配料,但其中一些配料的味道并不很好。因此,你需要将这些配料与真正好吃的配料放在一起。澳洲坚果可以使那些味道不好的东西变得好吃起来。”

Alice认为,寻求健康、优质产品的消费者正在寻找可以分层调味的配料,例如在沙拉中使用澳洲坚果油以及澳洲坚果片。她还说,澳大利亚原产地很重要。

“这是一种适用性强的产品,它是澳大利亚的地方性产品,这一点很重要。”她说,“它喜欢在这里生长。这意味着它将继续在这里生长,而且随着再生农业变得更加受人关注,这是一个真正令人兴奋的空间。”

想了解更多?

如果您对本次在线活动讨论的信息有任何疑问,包括食品和饮料制造商可获得的澳大利亚夏威夷果仁的样式,请联系(T:+86 20 8732 2100; E:augustine.he@sopexa.com)或联系澳大利亚夏威夷果仁供应商(https://trade.australian-macadamias.org/zh/suppliers/)

Subscribe to The Macadamia Review

Our monthly e-newsletter
  • 通过提交此表格,表示您同意让我们收集您的个人信息,以便与您联系。请阅读更多关于我们的隐私政策。 privacy policy

最新资讯

更多资讯

食品趋势,澳洲坚果壳与健康研究:2023年六大新闻

2023是由挑战和亮点所组成的独特的一年,我们既经历了生活成本压力、人工智能的兴起、持续的气候变化问题与中东和乌克兰的战争,也见证了印度成为世界上人口最多的国家、COVID-19 大流行病正式宣告结束以及国际足联女子世界杯赛期间所展现的出色技能和勇气。

2023 Australian Macadamias Yearbook

The 2023 Australian Macadamias Yearbook is a comprehensive overview of our industry’s highlights and performance over the past 12 months. It provides a summary of all key facets of the Australian macadamia industry, including:

2023 年澳洲坚果产品的卓越探索

2023年对于含有坚果的新产品而言,又是一个强劲的一年。随着各个市场和类别的制造商开始认识到澳大利亚本土坚果作为成分所能带来的多层次好处,新产品层出不穷。

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.

  • 通过提交此表格,表示您同意让我们收集您的个人信息,以便与您联系。请阅读更多关于我们的隐私政策。 privacy policy

Future-Proofed Food for Health-Forward Consumers: live event explores new research findings

The Australian macadamia industry’s commitment to ongoing consumer research stretches back many years, with the insights gained helping to shape our international marketing strategy. For our latest research project we have taken a different approach to previous studies, both in terms of the research methodology and the way the findings are being delivered.

L to R: Jacqui Price, Pam Brook and Alice Zaslavsky

Last month, we ran our first ever LinkedIn Live online event called Future-Proofed Food for Health-Forward Consumers. Created to provide an in-depth look at some of our most recent research findings, the event took the format of a live conversation, hosted by Australian Macadamias marketing manager Jacqui Price, with guest panellists, Alice Zaslavsky and Pam Brook.

Alice is an award-winning author, broadcaster and taste maker, while Pam is a macadamia grower and co-founder of premium cereal and snack brand Brookfarm. They brought food industry and manufacturing experience to the conversation, and a deep understanding of what drives today’s conscious consumers when it comes to food.

Exploring trends from opinion leader research

Our most recent research explored major food trends and innovation opportunities for product development with macadamias. Rather than talk to consumers as we have done in the past, this time we conducted a series of in-depth interviews with key opinion leaders across Australia, Taiwan, China, South Korea, Japan and India, with panellist Alice Zaslavsky participating in the research.

The live event enabled us to unpack two of the key trends that emerged from this research – multi-dimensional health and future-proofed foods, opening up a rich and insightful conversation.

Multi-dimensional health

Health has been top of mind for consumers for several years now, but the way it’s playing out is constantly evolving. According to the research, the health trend is predicted to reach new heights, as its meaning continues to manifest across markets and consumers’ knowledge keeps expanding.

Alice believes there are several factors feeding this trend. “The pandemic played into consumers recognising that they can take control of their health through food, and with social media, there are so many more nutritionists and dietitians communicating the health benefits of foods.”

As a product developer for both the Australian and international markets, Pam said that brands looking to launch new products with a health proposition must bed down taste and cultural norms first.

“When you’re looking at different markets, you need to look at what people like to eat. A granola that’s seen as really healthy in Australia won’t work in a country where people don’t eat breakfast,” she said. “It’s important to find ways to add value for health that fits with how (people in that market) eat,” she said.

Balance-seeking on trend

The research highlighted ‘balance-seeking’ as one of the ways health is now playing out, with consumers viewing health more holistically, being less focused on perfectionism and recognising that indulgence can be part of eating well.

Alice feels this message is resonating now more than ever. “A lot of the language that I use is about removing guilt and helping people feel positive about the way they’re eating. In terms of macadamias, they’re not just about taste and nutrition. They’re a premium addition to anything. They feel indulgent.”

“I think we’re finally getting past that neurosis about fat,” said Pam. “People went low fat, but then they substituted with sugars, which was a terrible health outcome. Now people are realising we need to achieve balance.”

Growing interest in functional food benefits

The health trend has also seen more consumers interested in understanding the functional benefits of food, sometimes at quite a granular level, and Alice believes consumers are becoming more individualised and educated in the way they think about their health.

“Many people are following a ‘wellness warrior’ of some kind, and functionality comes up a lot. It’s less about the food pyramid and more about ‘What can I do to fortify my eating in order to feel even better?’” she said.

Pam believes that provided it delivers on taste and functional promises, consumers will pay more for a premium product that contains ingredients that offer the functional benefits they’re looking for. Additionally, she says people are seeking real food. “If you’ve got a premium product and it’s real food, people feel they know where it came from. They trust it and they’re willing to pay for it.”

Future-proofed food

Future-proofed food is a trend that’s emerging due to increasing macro-economic pressures, and the impact this is having on food availability. It’s forcing consumers to re-think how they access and use what’s available to them, and it raises important issues for manufacturers too.

“I think it’s a real challenge for manufacturers and producers to live up to”, added Pam. “When producing products, at the forefront must be where we source our ingredients from, ensuring they’re from trusted sources, and supporting farming innovation. And also communicating this to the consumer. The consumer needs to feel good about what they buy. That emotional bond to food is really important.”

The need for ‘accessible inspiration’

This trend has also sparked the need for ‘accessible inspiration’. Consumers are currently very price-conscious and looking to create their favourite foods in more affordable ways. The same can be said for manufacturers, with price pressure being felt right through the supply chain

Alice said this trend is seeing consumers trying to make things at home that they would normally buy processed. She gave the example of nut milk. “They’re thinking about how they can do this in a cost effective way. For example, buying broken nuts to recreate that product.”

It’s an example that has relevance for manufacturers too, thanks to the wide range of ingredient-grade macadamias that are available for commercial use. When considering macadamias as an ingredient in a product formulation, smaller kernel styles may be the most economical option, and in many instances, may also be better suited to a formulation than premium-priced whole kernel.

Pam delivered valuable insights on what it’s like to create products using different macadamia styles. “50% of taste comes from texture, and all these different styles play into that,” she explained. “We’ve created a porridge that uses tiny chopped up macadamias and macadamia meal. But then for a snack nut we might want a premium style because people want the look and feel of an entire nut. One of the gifts of the macadamia is all the different styles.”

Pam said another upside of having a choice of styles is that you don’t necessarily need a lot to make a big impact.  “The macadamia brings its mouthfeel and flavour, so if you have 5-6% macadamias in a product it’s still adding all that extra balance and flavour and giving you that texture and crunch.”

Jacqui Price explains the different styles of Australian macadamia kernel available to manufacturers

Growing emphasis on adaptable ingredients

The research told us that because the pandemic restricted access to some foods, there’s an emphasis emerging on ingredients that can be used in multiple ways to create many different dishes or products.

As a highly adaptable ingredient, this trend is particularly relevant to macadamias. Available year-round in a variety of formats (kernel, paste and oil), they suit both sweet and savoury flavour profiles. When stored correctly, they have a long shelf life.

Because Australian macadamias are grown in their natural home, the trees are naturally adapted to the very harsh conditions that characterise our climate. The past few years have seen major growing regions experience both severe drought and flooding, yet the macadamia trees have still produced a healthy and abundant crop.

Pam feels the premium taste and texture of macadamias is one of the reasons they’re so adaptable. “People are looking for quick fixes. There are all sorts of fancy ingredients but some of them don’t taste very good. So you need to put those with ingredients that really do taste good. The macadamia can make things that taste bad taste good,” she said.

Alice believes that consumers seeking healthy, premium products are looking for ingredients that can layer flavours, for example using a macadamia oil in a salad as well as macadamia pieces. She also says Australian origin matters.

“It’s an adaptable product and the fact it’s endemic to Australia is important,” she said. “It likes growing here. That means it will continue to grow here and as regenerative agriculture becomes more top of mind it’s a really exciting space to play in.”

Want to know more?

To watch the full replay of this multi-layered conversation head here.  And if you’re not already, we invite you to follow us on LinkedIn.

If you have any questions about the information discussed in this online event please contact Jacqui Price or talk to an Australian macadamia supplier.

Subscribe to The Macadamia Review

Our monthly e-newsletter
  • By submitting this form you agree to let us collect your personal information in order to contact you back. Read more at our privacy policy

Latest stories

See more news

From extraction to innovation: why macadamia oil is a culinary and cosmetic hero

Macadamia oil is often described as ‘liquid gold’ and a closer look at its health benefits and versatility makes it clear why. Free from cholesterol, sodium, sugar and trans fats, as well as a source of vitamin E, heart-healthy monounsaturated fats, palmitoleic acid and phytosterols, it’s a versatile oil that’s just as at home in domestic kitchens and food products as it is in anti-ageing skincare. 

New seasoned macadamia crumb a masterclass in versatility

The launch of a new macadamia product is always exciting, especially when it breaks new ground in terms of flavour and format. A new seasoned macadamia crumb recently did exactly that, while bringing to life a key innovation opportunity that emerged from our industry’s research exploring the emerging trends set to shape the food and beverage landscape over the coming years.

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.

  • By submitting this form you agree to let us collect your personal information in order to contact you back. Read more at our privacy policy