9月市场报告

全球供应量稳定,澳大利亚果仁销售有所提升

供应

2021年澳大利亚产澳洲坚果预计产量已从50,770吨下调至48,500吨,含水量为3.5%(若基于含水量10%, 则预计产量从54,440吨调整至52,000吨)。在新南威尔士州种植区,近几个月的恶劣天气造成第一批果实收获延迟,并导致收成受损,预计产量也相应下调。目前澳洲坚果的收获已大部分已完成,本季收获的坚果大小更为规整,果仁产量虽略有下降,总体质量非常好。

2021年全球预计产量为 239,034 吨(含水量3.5%),同比增长 5%。调整后的澳大利亚预计产量显示,尽管前几年的干旱仍有持续影响,大多数地区的种植条件相当良好,今年产量比去年增加约3.5%。南非澳洲坚果协会(SAMAC)公布的2021年带壳预计产量已从57,834吨下调为54,174吨(含水量3.5%),比2020年产量高出11%。中国和马拉维的产量有望恢复稳定,但肯尼亚正经历着持续的挑战。

需求

新冠疫情开始至今,已经过去18个月。据世界银行报告,全球经济已做好强劲反弹准备,但由于许多国家仍在继续与病毒作斗争,预计各国的复苏情况并不均衡。全球市场对澳洲坚果果仁进口需求的增长,也反映了这一趋势。美国以外的所有主要地区,相比上一个MAT周期(6 月- 5 月)均有所增长。近几个月,美国对进口产品的兴趣保持强劲,预计美国进口市场情况也将有所改善。中国/香港地区是增长的主要推动力,涨幅达33%。由于经济快速复苏、春节需求强劲,以及电商领域竞争加剧带来的二三线市场分销力度加强,带壳坚果进口量达11,172吨,为2018年以来最高水平,比上一MAT周期增长35%。

澳大利亚在主要市场的占有率继续保持优先。仅台湾地区例外,因为来自其他产地的竞争日益激烈。

澳大利亚果仁销售

澳大利亚产的澳洲坚果果仁销售正跟随全球趋势,显示出强劲势头。尽管某些特定市场出现一些波动,所有主要市场均比前一轮MAT周期有所增长。销售恢复最快的是韩国,增幅达60%。澳大利亚国内销售量也比上年增长10%。国际市场的不稳定和澳元的走高,使国内买家价值有所提高。餐饮服务不时关闭,越来越多的人在家工作,这些情况都带来居家烹饪的潮流。 消费者重新定义了“享受”的概念,用健康、营养的食物滋养自己,以在这个不确定的时代,尽力保持身心健康。

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to the macadamia review to get more news like this delivered straight to your inbox.

    • 您同意让我们收集您的个人信息,以便与您联系。进一步了解我们的隐私政策。

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.

    • 您同意让我们收集您的个人信息,以便与您联系。进一步了解我们的隐私政策。

September 2021 market report

Australian kernel sales improve as global supply holds firm

Supply

Supply graph
Figure 1: Global macadamia crop volumes 2017-2021 (tonnes)
Source: INC. All volumes are at 3.5% MC.

The 2021 Australian macadamia crop forecast has been revised down by 4.5% from 50,770 to 48,500 tonnes in-shell at 3.5% moisture (from 54,440 to 52,000 tonnes at 10% moisture). In the New South Wales growing region, severe weather experienced in recent months delayed first new crop harvest and caused physical crop losses reducing original published crop expectations. With the majority of the Australian macadamia crop now collected, nut sizing is more normal this season and whilst kernel yields are slightly down, overall quality is very good.

The global forecast for the 2021 season is 239,034 tonnes inshell @ 3.5% moisture, an increase of 5%. Australia’s revised forecast represents an increase on last year’s crop of approximately 3.5% due to favourable growing conditions in most regions despite the ongoing legacy of previous years’ sustained drought. Macadamias South Africa’s (SAMAC) published crop estimate for 2021 has been reduced from 57,834 tonnes in-shell to 54,174 tonnes in-shell @ 3.5% moisture. This is 11% higher than the 2020 season result. China and Malawi are expected to return solid crops but Kenya is experiencing ongoing challenges.

Demand

Kernel imports graph
Figure 2: Macadamia kernel imports to top 5 markets (tonnes) MAT June – May
Sources: USDA, Eurostat, Japan Customs, China Customs, Hong Kong Census & Statistics Department via IHS Markit Inc, AMHA
Australian market share graph
Figure 3: Australian market share of Macadamia kernel imports (tonnes) MAT June -May.
Sources: USDA, Eurostat, Japan Customs, China Customs, Hong Kong Census & Statistics Department via IHS Markit Inc, AMHA

Eighteen months since the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, the World Bank is reporting the global economy is poised for a strong recovery, however the rebound is expected to be uneven across countries as many continue to grapple with the virus. Global demand for total macadamia kernel imports continues to improve in line with this. Apart from USA, all major regions are up on the prior MAT period (June- May). Interest from the USA in recent months has been strong and imports into this market are expected to improve. China/HK is the key driver of growth, up 33%. NIS imports were at their highest since 2018 at 11,172 tonnes and were 35% higher than the prior MAT period, driven by rapid economic recovery, a strong Chinese New Year and increased competition in the ecommerce sector resulting in wider distribution into Tier 2 and 3 cities.

Australia’s market share continues to hold in its priority markets. Taiwan is the exception, where there has been increased competition from other origins.

Australian sales

Australian sales graph
Figure 4: Australian macadamia kernel sales (tonnes) MAT (July-June)
Source: AMHA. In-shell sales quoted at 3.5% MC. AMHA represents 90% production, sales are adjusted to represent non-AMHA members

Australian macadamia kernel sales are following the global trend and showing strong improvement with all major regions experiencing growth on prior MAT period, although there was some fluctuation across the specific markets. The fastest recovering market for Australian sales was Korea, up 60%. It was also positive to see domestic sales increased 10% on prior year. Disruption to the international markets and a strong Australian dollar saw improved availability and value for domestic buyers. The intermittent closure of foodservice operators and the growing number of employees working from home fuelled the home cooking trend. Consumers have redefined the concept of indulgence and are nourishing themselves with healthy, nutritious food to support their mood and wellbeing during these tumultuous times.

Did you like this article?

Subscribe to the macadamia review to get more news like this delivered straight to your inbox.

SUBSCRIBE TO THE MACADAMIA REVIEW

and be the first to know about the latest news from the Australian macadamia industry.